1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Denon 2802 receiver

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by perrin, Oct 19, 2001.

1. perrin

perrin Stunt Coordinator

Today, I ordered the Denon 2802 from Sound Professionals in San Diego,CA, and I cannot wait to get it. This is my first receiver, so I am very new to the home theater scene. Can someone recommend a book to learn everything about home theater? I am thinking of going to Crutchfield.com to order their book on this subject.
    I know the remote control is not the greatest. But, I was thinking of getting either the Sony or the Pronto touchscreen remote control. Also, I am planning on getting Polk Audio's RM6600 bookshelf speakers next month, and eventually the subwoofer. I know it will be hard on learning, but I plan to ask a lot of questions on this forum.

2. Jo_M

Jo_M Stunt Coordinator

Welcome to the money pit [​IMG] Just kidding... I just started myself. I purchased the Denon 1802 and now I'm trying different speaker sets to find something I like.

3. MatthewJ S

MatthewJ S Supporting Actor

You'll love the 2802! I think it has a great mix of quality and features for the price...as for the remote, I like it ...any remote requires time to learn layout and programming options, as long as remotes are learning and have enough direct acsess keys I happy and the dennon does!

4. DarrinH

DarrinH Second Unit

From one end of the country to the other, welcome to the forum perrin. You will find people one here that know a lot about home theater and some that are still learning like myself. I myself am getting ready to order the Denon 2802 from sounddistributors.com. Hope I like it. I am still running Pro-Logic and have not heard DD in my theater yet.