Denon 2802 owners - question for you

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by ThomasL, Aug 25, 2002.

  1. ThomasL

    ThomasL Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2001
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can the Denon remember different individual channel level settings for stereo/direct vs. DD/DTS? Say, one wanted to balance their speakers for movie watching yet wanted to simply leave the front L/R at 0db each for 2 channel music listening since one doesn't normally sit in one sweet spot for this type of listening. Does the Denon allow for this? As far as I can tell my 811S doesn't. It's not a big issue at the moment but I'm compiling a mental list of features I'd like any future replacement to have [​IMG] and I think the ability to store different tonal/level/etc. settings for different surround/music modes is a nice feature. The Denon manual is not entirely clearly written (as his been pointed out several times I think) but they seem to hint that it can indeed do this.
    thanks,
    --tom
     
  2. Richard Harvey

    Richard Harvey Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 1999
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tom,

    You can have the "CD" and "DVD" inputs actually come from the same device (i.e. a DVD player). If you then select CD input, you can setup whatever options you want independent of your DVD input settings. For example, I always have my 2802 set for 5-channel stereo on a CD input, and DD/DTS auto-detect on a DVD input (even though they come from the same device). I believe you can store levels/EQ settings for each input device independently as well.

    Rich
     
  3. Mike_Ch

    Mike_Ch Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thomas,
    I don't have the 2802, but I do have the 2801, and you can set the "global" channel levels when you first calibrate which will be applied to all inputs and all listening modes (direct/stereo/DD/matrix etc etc), and from there you can trim each mode to what you desire. So for example, you can initally set your front mains to +3db, and use this when watching DD movies, and then when you switch over to direct, you can trim the level to 00db which will be stored in the receiver's memory. Hope this helps!

    Cheers,
    Mike
     
  4. Barry BB

    Barry BB Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    "You can have the "CD" and "DVD" inputs actually come from the same device (i.e. a DVD player). "

    Richard (or anyone else that cares to answer)

    How do you do this? On my 2802 I have to have the receiver on DVD when playing a CD. It has bugged me that I have to remember to change my settings for CD and DVD playing.
     
  5. ThomasL

    ThomasL Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2001
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Barry, if your player does parallel audio out, then you can also hook up a analog connections and run them to the cd input on your receiver. This means that you'll be using the DACs in the DVD player though. Other than that, unless there is a way to attach two inputs to the same digital source input, I can't figure out how to do it either.

    cheers,


    --tom
     
  6. Richard Harvey

    Richard Harvey Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 1999
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Barry,

    Just run a good pair of stereo interconnects from your DVD player into the CD L/R inputs, then run an optical from your DVD player into one of your optical inputs. Assign the DVD input from the optical, and the CD input from the L/R CD inputs. By doing this, you can set (and the 2802 will remember) your preferences for CD vs. DVD. Like I said, I can set CD input and it will auto-change to 5-channel stereo, but with DVD input it will switch to DD/DTS auto-detect.

    Rich
     
  7. Barry BB

    Barry BB Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have not had a chance to do it yet but I wanted to make sure to say thanks for the replies on this. My question though is if I'm connecting from the player to the receiver first then is the DAC of the DVD player being used?
     

Share This Page