Denon 1803 @ goodguys.com ~ $450 shipped

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Albert_L, Aug 22, 2002.

  1. Albert_L

    Albert_L Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The receiver I have been patiently waiting for is available at goodguys.com for $450 shipped and no taxes(after 10% off). Pretty good price, I wouldn't expect to find it for much less when it hits the streets.

    The receiver is suppose to ship on or about 09/11. I will probably order one after calling 6th Ave.

    Just wanted to update everyone else who has been waiting for this receiver.
     
  2. Aaron H

    Aaron H Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I saw the 1403 and 1603 on their site yesterday, too. I'll have to check back and take a look at the 1803. It wasn't up as of yesterday.

    Aaron
     
  3. Kevin*R

    Kevin*R Agent

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Denon gurus,

    Other than watts, what are the major differences that distinguish the Denon 1802 or 1803 and the 2802? They appear to have comparable thd performance (.05%).
     
  4. Aaron H

    Aaron H Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't believe the 18xx series has pre-outs, which the 2802 does.

    Aaron
     
  5. Kevin*R

    Kevin*R Agent

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Aaron!
     
  6. Joe Hsu

    Joe Hsu Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmph, so the 1803 still doesn't have pre-outs? That's what I was hoping they'd add, but I guess they don't have much reason. H/K 320 it is for me, then. [​IMG]
     
  7. Scott Bourden

    Scott Bourden Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The front three channels and the sub have pre-outs, but the rears do not. Fine for my usage (my 1802 has no trouble powering my mini-monitor's in back) but I can see this being something others wouldn't be happy with. [​IMG]
     
  8. Aaron H

    Aaron H Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looking at the rear pannel of the 1803 on Denon's site, I only see a sub pre-out. But maybe I'm missing something.....

    Aaron
     
  9. Paul Clarke

    Paul Clarke Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I only see pre-outs for the Front L-R...and Sub, of course.
     
  10. Aaron H

    Aaron H Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where on the back pannel are the front pre-outs located?

    From the Denon 2802 description:
    7.1 Pre-amp outputs (LF/C/RF/SL/SR/SBL/SBR/Sub)

    From the 1803 description:
    Subwoofer Pre-out, with Variable Cross-over points(80/100/120Hz)

    Aaron
     
  11. Juan M

    Juan M Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    2802: 6.1 with 7.1 pre-out plus multi-zone L/R pre-out
    1802: 5.1 with L/R/C + sub pre-out
    1803: 6.1 with only sub pre-out plus multi-zone L/R pre-out
    so it looks like the 1803 gained an additional amp, 6.1 decoding, and multi-zone in exchange for the 3 front pre-outs that the 1802 had
    http://usa.denon.com/catalog/products.asp?l=1&c=2
     
  12. DarrinH

    DarrinH Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2000
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh where, Oh where are the new Denon's
    Oh where, Oh where can they beeeeeee....
    I am forcibly hanging on for the 2803, and gritting my teeth at the same time.[​IMG]
    My theater got zapped by a bolt of lightning so I have been without for a month so far. The new models will not be out until late September?
     
  13. Paul Clarke

    Paul Clarke Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Aaron,

    I see a L-R out at the top of the Digital column that does not match with any input. I can't read the darn printing due to photo detail and unfortunately zooming in doesn't help at all. I can't figure out what else these would be.
    Sorry for any confusion.

    EDIT: Whoops! Just figured it out...they're the Zone 2 Stereo outputs. Sorry.:b
     
  14. Albert_L

    Albert_L Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    6th Ave does not have it listed yet...

    Not having pre-outs is making me reconsider but I don't think I will be needing more power. Tough decision.
     
  15. Russ Dunn

    Russ Dunn Extra

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The 1802 is .08 THD and the 1803 is .05 (a little better)
    I heard the 1803 would be 90 watts x6??
    New Remote!!!!!!

    Is Multizone so you can have a different volume for the B speakers?

    Russ
     
  16. Denis K

    Denis K Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2000
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also, looks like the 1803 lacks the OSD that the 2802 has.
     
  17. Albert_L

    Albert_L Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does the Onkyo 600 or H/K 320 have OSD? That feature is important to me.
     
  18. Paul Clarke

    Paul Clarke Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I believe OSD is a given on every H/K. Certainly the 320 has it. Don't know about the Onk.

    Edit: the 600 has OSD. Do yourself a favor...go with H/K.
     

Share This Page