Denon 1600 DVD-Audio help

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Richard C, Jan 15, 2004.

1. Richard C

Richard C Extra

I've got the DVD1600 hooked up to a Denon 3803. Finally bought a DVD-A disc, Fleetwood Mac's Rumors, but I don't know that I'm getting the correct DVD-A performance. And, given the poor quality of the Denon instruction manuals and being a DVD-A newbie, I'm not exactly sure what I should have had happen. Help?

When I first played the disc, I was getting sound out of the FR and FL stereo speakers. The 3803's Dolby Digital light did not come on like it does for DVD's with 5.1.(Should it?) The 3803 front display said "stereo". I could adjust all the various surround parameters (5 channel stereo, etc.), but is that what I should have to do?

The DVD-A disc says it plays 3 ways: Advanced Resolution Surround, Advanced Resolution Stereo, DVD-Video Compatible Dolby Digital with your hardware determining the mix you hear. Which way should it be playing on this equipment? And how do I tell?

The DVD-1600 settings are as follows:
    Speaker Setting - Multi-channel
    PCM downconversion - No
    Dolby Digital - Bitstream
    DTS Digital Surround - Bitstream

Thanks for any inputs.

2. Andrew Pratt

Andrew Pratt Producer

Is the Denon 1600 connected to the receivers multichannel input with 6 RCA cables?

3. Richard EO

Richard EO Auditioning

The 6 rca jacks do need to be connected. Also, set the receiver mode to EXT. IN to listen to dvd-a's. You should be able to access ext. in with your remote.

4. Richard C

Richard C Extra

Well, no, they're not. I thought my optical cable handled the function, based on those Denon instructions, but I guess not? If I understand correctly, I also need to connect my 1600 5.1 audio out RCA jacks to the 3803's Ext In jacks.

Thanks for the help. You guys rock.

5. Brian L

Brian L Cinematographer

6. Andrew Pratt

Andrew Pratt Producer