Delay in switching from DD to Prologic to DD with HK-AVR130

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Jose Robles, Nov 8, 2004.

  1. Jose Robles

    Jose Robles Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got the HK AVR130 and after hooking everything up and doing some testing I noticed that whenever a digital signal (say from a DVD) switches from Prologic to DTS/Dolby Digital the receiver seems to hesitate for a half second or so before it syncs up and sound can be heard again. A good example is when you pop a DVD into your player and you get to the menus which are usually only prologic. Switching from one menu item to another causes this delay for some reason and it also happens when you begin to play the movie and the various start up scenes begin; changing from prologic to DTS/Dolby Digital. I'm just curious if this is something that is common or normal with HK receivers as I never experienced this issue with my old Technics receiver. It's a little annoying because I end up missing that half second to a full second of sound where things normally would be audible.

    Thanks for any comments.

    Jose
     
  2. Carl Johnson

    Carl Johnson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 6, 1999
    Messages:
    2,259
    Likes Received:
    25
    Real Name:
    Carl III
    It's normal, I have an older HK DD receiver and it does the same thing.
     
  3. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    This is common to most manufacturers, not just H/K. Some are better than others, and it even varies from model to model, but most still have this issue.

    If it really bothers you, the complete solution is to use analog connections, as the problem is only present with digital connections. Many older receivers don't seem to have this problem.
     
  4. Jose Robles

    Jose Robles Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info guys! Hard to believe that my older receiver didn't suffer from this but I guess I can live with it. [​IMG]

    Jose
     
  5. Lewis Besze

    Lewis Besze Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 1999
    Messages:
    3,134
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can also select[if your receiver allows you to]from "auto" sense[signal] to whatever your prefference is, say Dolby for a given input.In that case when ever you switch to that input the digital lock occurs at that point not when the receiver senses any signal.
     
  6. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    That will work, but only if everything is DD, you'll still have to manually reselect for DTS, stereo, etc... Newer Yamaha's allow you to select "last" for each input to use whatever was the last format you had selected.

    My Marantz 8300 only has the droput on very rare occasion, and basically never on DVDs.
     
  7. Lewis Besze

    Lewis Besze Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 1999
    Messages:
    3,134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes that's true which is why I don't use this method myself,but for people who don't care for DTS this could work.{I would use a different input for PCM if he has any DVD encoded that way]
     
  8. ToddJ

    ToddJ Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just bought an HK 247 and noticed this as well...it is driving me up the wall......does anyone know if the newer Pioneer receivers do this? I am thinking about sending my HK back.
     
  9. gene c

    gene c Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    5,849
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Bay area, Ca
    Real Name:
    Gene
    I don't know if this happens with Pioneer or not but both my H/K 520 and Onkyo 702 also have the delay problem. When it happens, I immediately hit the "skip" button on the player to replay the track from the start. I must have gotten used to it because this problem doesn't seem bother me as much as it used to.
     
  10. ToddJ

    ToddJ Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now that i hooked up my MOXI DVR, i noticed it does it also when during commercials that aren't dolby digital. if i turn off the auto, and left it on Dolby Digital, what would happen to the non-Dolby Digital stuff? (i would try it, but i am not going to be able to test it for several days.)
     

Share This Page