Deinterlace after or before editing?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by JasenP, Sep 23, 2002.

  1. JasenP

    JasenP Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 1999
    Messages:
    1,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Real Name:
    Jasen
    ...or does it matter?

    I am capping raw AVI at 720 X 480 and it will eventually be transferred to videotape and DVD-R.

    Any input is much appreciated!
     
  2. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    As long as you haven't re-rendered anything, it doesn't matter when you do it.
     
  3. Ken Chan

    Ken Chan Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 1999
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    If the original source is interlaced, and the output (tape or DVD) is interlaced, why deinterlace it?

    //Ken
     
  4. JasenP

    JasenP Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 1999
    Messages:
    1,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Real Name:
    Jasen
    Thanks guys

    The final product will be in multiple formats: DVD, VHS, Windows Media Etc...

    Anyone know why when I try to encode to AVI in any other program besides Premiere I occasionally get just black with audio?
     
  5. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's because that program isn't reading the codec you're using correctly
     
  6. JasenP

    JasenP Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 1999
    Messages:
    1,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Real Name:
    Jasen
    Weird... It's uncompressed AVI. Should I be using some sort of lossless codec instead of uncompressed?
     
  7. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm

    Odd that they aren't doing uncompressed....
     
  8. JasenP

    JasenP Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 1999
    Messages:
    1,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Real Name:
    Jasen
    I was using Ulead Video Studio VE (It came with one of my components) but it has some flashier transitions than Premiere, I was going to render certain segments in Ulead and then combine them with other clips in Premiere. I think I'll stick with trusty ol' Premiere instead.
     

Share This Page