What's new

Dedicated Media Room, needing advice (1 Viewer)

Mark Hudzinski

Auditioning
My fiancee and I are getting married late next summer, and will be buying a house shortly thereafter. One of my conditions is that whatever house we buy will end up having a dedicated "Theater room" for my movie/tv watching. I have a basic HT system now, and will probably sell off all that I own in favor of new equipment for the new room. I'm looking at spending about 15k on the equipment in the room, meaning all of the electronics/acoustic treatments. I would really like to do a projector system, but I am also very picky about picture quality, and the low-price projectors I've seen (InFocus X1) don't do it for me at all.

What would you all recommend? Is there a certain way that I should break down my budget? A friend of mine recommended 30% Monitor, 30% Speakers, 30% Electronics, 10% Cables/Acoustics. Does this sound about right?

I'm new to the hobby, and really want to do this one right.:D

Jack Briggs

Senior HTF Member
Since you appear to be asking for projector advice in the form of specific model recommendations (along with all the rest of the equipment needed), I've moved your post here in Display Devices. The Basics area is for general questions about home theater.

Good luck on assembling your system.

ChrisWiggles

Senior HTF Member
for 15k do a FP system for sure. There's no hard and fast distribution of costs, IMO. IT really depends what you're trying to do, what you want, your priorities, etc, since a set amount of dollars can give you WIDELY different performance in any one category depending on how smart you plan/shop.