Dedicated home theater room

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Brian_Dickson, Jan 22, 2002.

1. Brian_Dickson

Brian_Dickson Auditioning

I am moving into a house with a garage that is pretty much useless, so I had the great idea of turning it into a dedicated home theater room. I don't have the best equipment at this time but I plan to start building. I figured the best way to start would be to have a room for the sole purpose of making the veiwing and listening experience the best that it can. Now, my question to you is, is there a difference in the insulation and drywall that I use in an acoustical sense? Should I put up wallpaper or paint? Carpet or cement? Should I suspend my speakers from the ceiling or put them on stands? I am very new to this but want to learn so any suggestions will help, thanks![​IMG]

2. Dan Hitchman

Dan Hitchman Cinematographer

First off, welcome!

Second, what are the dimensions of the garage you plan to use? H, W, and L

If you plan to sound isolate the room from the rest of the house it depends on how much space in the room you can afford to give up since some plans call for a staggered stud wall approach or double layered dry wall with staggered seams. You should also seal the room with acoustic caulk so there is no sound leakage (also seal the outlets after they are installed). Sound waves act like light waves. If there is a tiny hole somewhere for the sound to escape, it will. Plus a heavy door with sound proof seals would help too. Since part of the garage is probably on an outside wall(s) and the ceiling is more than likely not insulated at all you do need proper R valued pink insulation for heat and cold (also helps with trapping sound transmissions).

Then, after the new room dimensions are created, you can determine with software and some help how to best acoustically treat the room.

I wouldn't suspend speakers from the ceiling.