1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Dear Hollywood: Please stop re-making classic films!!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by David Tolsky, Oct 14, 2002.

1. David Tolsky

David Tolsky Supporting Actor

Is it that you're hard up for new material? Or do you get great satisfaction out of destroying the image of a classic?
    I had the great pleasure of working last week with Gene Wilder as he was a guest star on Will & Grace. As I have heard a rumour about a possible re-make of Willy Wonka, I asked him if he had heard of anything. "I've been hearing that for the last 3 years," he said, "I think it's stupid", he added with sad eyes.
    I agreed with him and added, "How can you improve upon perfection?"
    Hollywood's track record with re-makes of classic films has pretty much been a disaster; witness great dissappointments in Planet of the Apes and The Time Machine. I know you guys can name more of them and I hope you do in this thread. I just want to take this opportunity to say to Hollywood, IF IT AINT BROKE, DON'T FIX IT!

2. Peter Kline

Peter Kline Cinematographer

I agree. Hollywood also has a thing for remaking not so classic films as well.

3. Brian E

Brian E Screenwriter

The reason the do remakes is lots of people go to see them. If people would quit going to see them they'd stop real fast. A remake does nothing to "destroy the image of a classic" for me as I generally never watch them.

4. Neil Joseph

Neil Joseph Lead Actor

Neil Joseph
    I am going to move this to Studio Feedback.

For the record, I agree of course.

5. Robert Crawford

Robert Crawford Moderator

Robert
    This trend needs to stop, especially, since the remakes are either terrible or mediocre at best.

6. Seth Paxton

Seth Paxton Lead Actor

David,
    I sort of agree, but let me just add one thing for you to chew on...
    Ben freaking Hur