DC: World Series BaseBall... 2K1 or 2K2?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Kevin_W, Dec 11, 2001.

1. Kevin_W

Kevin_W Second Unit

Hello,

I just got my dreamcast so I am pretty new to its game library but I want to start stocking up. I wanted to get opinions on the WSB 2K1 and 2K2. I hear a lot of talk about getting the NFL 2K1 over the 2K2 because of the savings vs performance and was wondering if the same holds true to the baseball series. I am not interested in current rosters though good graphics/gameplay and season setup is important, also I'd like to know if 2K1 has Tigers' new Comerica Park. Any opinions welcome. Thanks!

Kevin

2. BrianB

BrianB Producer

Warning: I'm not a baseball fan & own neither game.

The general opinion in reviews & online seems to be that WSB2K1 is flawed - it has no controllable fielding option & that seems to generally annoy people.

WSB2K2 is supposedly better - but still not as good as it could/should have been.

I'd go check both reviews on dc.ign.com to get a good appreciation of the games. With the NFL series - I'd definitely reccomend picking up 2K1 for $8 from Amazon over the (full price) 2K2!

3. Kevin_W

Kevin_W Second Unit

Thanks for the info Brian, but $8 at Amazon!? I only saw it for $20... did I miss a clearance section?

Side note: Virtua Tennis is only $10 @amazon... thats purchase #2.

Kevin

4. BrianB

BrianB Producer

Just to be clear - I meant NFL2K1 at $8. Was certainly there when I ordered two copies yesterday for friends in the UK.

I've no idea about hte prices of the WSB games - I have little interested in them so I haven't paid them any attention pricewise, sorry.

5. Mark Dubbelboer

Mark Dubbelboer Screenwriter

WSB2k1 is BRUTAL!

I rented it and was so dissapointed with it I think it was played for maybe 20min.

I tried WSB2k2 with very very low expectations, but came away blown away. The game is such a vast improvement i'm not even capable of putting it into words.

6. NickSo