Database Assistance Needed

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Brian Mansure, Sep 17, 2003.

1. Brian Mansure

Brian Mansure Second Unit

I'm a true beginner when it comes to creating databases and was hoping to get some help.

I would like to create a database that will track daily family expenses that can be summarized daily, weekly, monthly and annualy.

The data I want to record will be something like this:
    • Expense Categories (Mortgage, Utilities, Entertainment, etc.)
    • Specific Types of Expenses (dining out, groceries, daycare, etc.)
    • Date
    • Amount (spent, withdrawn, paid)
    • Type of Payment (credit, debit, cash, check)
    • Description of Transaction
    • Paid To

Not too complicated, I just can't seem to put it all together in a logical data structure.

Most likely I'll be using MS Access to create the database and ColdFusion for the frontend.

I appreciate your suggestions and comments.

Thanks,
    Brian

2. Ryan Spaight

Ryan Spaight Supporting Actor

First off, you'll save yourself lots of time and aggravation by just going out and buying a copy of Quicken or Money. But I get the impression you enjoy the DIY approach, so here's some suggestions to get started.

First, create tables to define all your categories: Expense Categories, Expense Types, and Payment Types on the above list. These table should look something like this:

EXPENSE_CATEGORIES

Code:
     CODE DESCRIPTION SEQUENCE
     M Mortgage 1
     U Utilities 2
     E Entertainment 3

And then for Expense Types (adding a field to handle the category):

EXPENSE_TYPE

Code:
     CODE DESCRIPTION EXPCATCODE SEQUENCE
     D1 Dining Out E 1
     D2 DVDs E 2
     M1 Movies E 3
     G1 Gas (Home) U 1
     E1 Electric U 2

PAYMENT_TYPE

Code:
     CODE DESCRIPTION SEQUENCE
     C Credit 1
     D Debit 2
     S Cash 3
     K Check 4

In each of these tables, the CODE should be the unique, primary key.