Dagnabbit!!! (subwoofer)

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Neil Joseph, Nov 2, 2002.

  1. Neil Joseph

    Neil Joseph Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 1998
    Messages:
    8,332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Neil Joseph
    My sub was fine but after watching Spiderman, it would not turn on. I checked the fuse (blown), replaced it and it blew again, and again. I decided to do some investigation. If I unplug everything after the transformer, the fure does not blow. As soon as I hook in the power supply, it blows, even with no load. Looks like I need another power supply for this PSB Subsonic 6.

    I wish I had the money for a decent sub.
     
  2. Khoa Tran

    Khoa Tran Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    What was the post for if you just solved your own problem?
     
  3. Brian Bunge

    Brian Bunge Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    3,716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Neil,

    I thought you had built your own sub at some point. Maybe not, but it might be worth checking out if you haven't already.
     
  4. Chris Tsutsui

    Chris Tsutsui Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    The post is likely for venting. You might post too if your sub suddenly stopped working.
    I feel for you Neil, today I had an old 27" television officially call it quits. It started with audio problems that shut on/off and when the sound stopped for good I took it apart and looked at the IC and it was totally fried. [​IMG]
    It's an Old Toshiba, at least it was only a secondary TV.
     
  5. Seth_L

    Seth_L Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    1
    Neil,
    You wanted a Tumult right? [​IMG]
    Seth
     
  6. steve nn

    steve nn Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    0
    We shall grieve for you Neil and hope the sub Gods will relieve you with a new sub? Strength and Honor [​IMG]
     
  7. Michael R Price

    Michael R Price Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    1,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Neil, there's a possibility you blew the output transistors under the heavy load. This happened to my amp when I shorted its output by accident - the fuses blew, but when I replaced them they would just blow out again. Replacing the output transistors (not too expensive if substitutes are readily available) fixed the problem. You may want to try that yourself, or send the amp in for repair.
     
  8. Geoff L

    Geoff L Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Neil

    Sounds like (this assuming the Sub-6 is not a quick fix) a good time to build that MAX CAL DIY Sub you were planing!

    I belive your the one with that Raw driver......?

    Good luck on what ever route you choose to go after, repair-6 or build the Max.

    Regards
    Geoff
     
  9. DavidY

    DavidY Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 1999
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    0
    If the situation cannot be fixed, how about replacing the damaged amp with a plate amp and possibly, a new driver. [​IMG] Not sure what the exact driver size is on your PSB? Any other info like dimensions, vented dia/length, etc would helpful too. [​IMG]
    Dave
     
  10. Neil Joseph

    Neil Joseph Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 1998
    Messages:
    8,332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Neil Joseph
    nbI believe the box is only 2.5 ft^3 with two 2" ports at 9" long. My maxcaliber driver is a little too big for that driver hole, plus the box is a little smaller than what I would use that driver for. I would estimate the PSB driver to be 11.2" in diameter but I would have to take exact measurements to be sure. I may try to replace the two output transistors. I'll see if I can get a close match. I will also try to see if PSB will just sell the power supply portion (1 small card) of the amp. I sure ain't gunna buy a whole amp.

    And yes, this thread was definitely for venting.
     
  11. Neil Joseph

    Neil Joseph Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 1998
    Messages:
    8,332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Neil Joseph
    Get a load of this...
    I payed cdn$900 for the sub. I called PSB and they do not sell just the power supply (just the whole amp) for a steal of cdn$600. [​IMG]
    I have two options as I see it. Replace the 4 power transistors that I can see on the supply and see if that works. Then my next option is to get an equivalent plate amp for it from a local parts store.
     
  12. DavidY

    DavidY Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 1999
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    0
    PSB charges CDN$600 for a new power supply....talk about price gouging. [​IMG]
    FWIW, http://www.creativesound.ca carries the Adire AVA250 for CDN$284.
    Dave
     
  13. Brian Bunge

    Brian Bunge Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    3,716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Neil,

    Also keep in mind that the sub may not have the same frequency response using a generic plate amp. I'd imagine that the PSB has some amount of boost built into their amps.
     
  14. Seth_L

    Seth_L Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    1
    Like I said before...
    You really wanted a tumult anyways right? [​IMG]
    Seth
     
  15. Neil Joseph

    Neil Joseph Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 1998
    Messages:
    8,332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Neil Joseph
    Well, I have fixed it. I replaced the 4 power transistors on the board and tried it out tonight with success. I am so happy.
     

Share This Page