What's new

D-vhs (1 Viewer)

BenS

Stunt Coordinator
Does anyone own one? Why would any one buy this over a dvd player?

SamRoza

Stunt Coordinator
I don't even know what "one" is, but judging by the name, it's a VHS system that calls itself digital?

Understanding that magnetic tape is crap,(IMO), and being in love with DVD and it's ability to allow such random access, and options, and soundtracks, I'll stick with my DVD.

No tape for me. I haven't owned an audio tape since I was a sophomore in high school, and I wouldn't waste my time or money on tapes, be it VHS or audio, as an adult.

Sam

bryan_chow

Agent
Magnetic tape is NOT CRAP. Other than the lack of random access, there are no real negatives to tapes. Remember, your financial history and credit information is probably stored on magnetic tapes too, so they're certainly robust and reliable.
Back to the original topic.
Go to the AVS Forum's HDTV D-VHS board:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/forum...?s=&forumid=42
With the right equipment you can record perfect, digital high-definition video.
Bryan

Michael St. Clair

Senior HTF Member
HH Gregg is starting to promote these here.

Did you know that pre-recorded tapes can go up to 28.8mb/s? That's almost 50 percent more bandwidth than terrestrial and satellite HDTV!

Me, I've got no beef with D-VHS. It poses no real threat to DVD.

I'll probably buy one in about a year if HD-DVD is still pretty far off. I'll need SOME way to timeshift HD broadcasts.

SamRoza

Stunt Coordinator
Brian, since we're talking about Audio and Video and not simply data, or computer backups, I'd have to stick with my estimation of mag tapes as garbage.
Once again, no Random access, no options, questionable shelf life if less than the best quality mag tapes are used(even in data storage there is severe degradation over time), no 5.1 sound(except maybe in DVHS recordings where the original soundtrack is 5.1).