Customer loyalty = discounts?

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Michael Varacin, Mar 9, 2005.

1. Michael Varacin

Michael Varacin Stunt Coordinator

All,

I have an interesting question. I have been using a certain company's product for around 10 years now. It's a small company, that has a specialty market of data aquisition products for race cars. (Systems that record car and driver data.) The same people have been at the company since I first started using their systems.

These are high end systems, with complete packages ranging from $6,000 to over $20,000. I know their prices are very high, due to the niche market and quality they offer. But I also think some of it is crazy...for expample, to upgrade a base recording box from 128k to 512k (yes, that's k, not meg), is $400! Some systems use PCMCIA memory cards that they have priced at $695 for a 4 meg card. Or a simple proximity switch used to measure wheel speed. Their price, $160, available from most electronic stores for $30.

I have not spent much money with them over the years, other then the purchase of my system about 9 years ago. I have ordered little things and have kept in touch so they know who I am. They have some new sensors out this year I want to use, but I need to pay $1300 to upgrade the firmware and software first. So the total I am spending is around $3000.

As a long time supporter and user of thier products, I thought they would be willing to give me some discount on the upgrade. No dice. Was it reasonable for me to expect something on this?????

Michael.

2. Jason Kirkpatri

Jason Kirkpatri Second Unit

Given their limited market size and (guessing) cash sensativity, I would say that the absence of a discount is reasonable, especially since you have never bought in bulk, so to speak.

3. Lew Crippen

Lew Crippen Executive Producer