Custom cover art instructions (for a newbie)?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Matt C, Apr 2, 2002.

1. Matt C

Matt C Stunt Coordinator

Matthew
    Hey everyone! I was wondering if anyone could give me some tips on creating custom dvd case covers. I have some homemade VCDs that I would like to put in DVD cases, and I want to make some covers for them. I will be using Adobe Photoshop 6.0. Could anyone give some pointers to a newbie? I tried starting one (sortof) and it just seemed really overwhelming. Some of the things i need to know is what size (after printing) the cover needs to be for a single DVD case (sorry for such a stupid-sounding question, i'm at college, none of my cases are with me). Also, how do I know where to put the spine art within photoshop? Is there a way to show a ruler? (sorry, I'm just starting to learn to use photoshop, and I wanted to learn doing something fun).
    Anyways, some tips would be great!
    -Matt C
    -Edit: OK, so I just found the ruler function within photoshop, so that question is answered. :b So on to the tips! [​IMG]

2. Jereme D

Jereme D Stunt Coordinator

3. Matt C

Matt C Stunt Coordinator

Matthew
    Great! Thanks a lot for the template! I managed to start the cover, and have set up the proper size in PS. Here's another stupid question, but how can I rotate text so that it is oriented properly on the spine? It's probably very easy, but I haven't been able to figure it out.

Thanks again!

-Matt C

4. Eric M Jones

Eric M Jones Second Unit

On the top menu:

Edit > Transform > Rotate

-EJ

5. Matt C

Matt C Stunt Coordinator

Matthew