What's new

Crumbling Speaker cone suspension foam - any advice appreciated (1 Viewer)

David E

Auditioning
Hi all,

If this topic has been covered before, could someone please post the link, otherwise, any help or advice would be very much appreciated.
I have a set of Auditone Ambassadors (a top shelf speaker from an Australian manufacturer here)and have been very happy with them to this point. I recently pulled the grilles off the speakers (Mains and Centre Channel) to see if there would be any audible sound difference.
When the grilles came off, I noticed the foam suspension boundary around the Mid range tweeters had deteriorated to the point of crumbling away for the most part. :frowning:

My questions are:

1) Is it possible to refurbish the speakers with top quality tweeters etc (I may well replace all components in the speakers if need be) and if so, what brands or types would you recommend. The speakers currently have one main 12" driver and a 6" mid and 2" high end tweeter

2) How much sound degradation does this crumbling foam represent, and other than keeping dust out, what is it there for?

3) I would like to keep the current speakers as they are well matched, but if it is economically unrealistic to keep them and refurbish them with new components, what brands should I have a look at? I've always been told that Aerial Acoustics are a good brand, and Klipsch also have been mentioned, but there's so many good speakers out there, and I would appreciate a good quality recommendation.

My viewing / listening habits are probably 95% movies and TV, the rest would be music.

Thank you for any help or advice you could give.

Best regards,

David :)

DarrenAlan

Stunt Coordinator
The good: There are many decent speakers out there for very reasonable prices that would probably knock the socks off your current ones. You don't say where you are -Oz? - but you should be able to locate some to audition.