Crown CE-1000 or QSC RMX 1450? ->>

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Zach M, Feb 12, 2001.

1. Zach M

Zach M Auditioning

If you read my last post, you know my amplifier situation. It turns out that it is royaly screwed up, and it actually blew the cone of the repair shop's test speaker onto the floor. They say they don't want to work with it anymore, so I am going to cut my losses and buy a new amp.
    Anyway, here is my question: which amp to buy? Both of the ones listed in the topic put out 450 watts at 4 ohms, which is plenty for me. They both cost ~$499. Which one is better? Do you trust one brand more than the other? How about special features? Any other amps in this range to look at?
    Thanks
    ------------------
    My Home Theater

2. chris hunigan

Zach,
    Maybe Vince Maskeeper can help you find the best solution between either amp. I have no experience with neither amp, but for subwoofer purposes either amp should get the job done! I believe when it comes to sound rienforcement amps they come down to three things. One is price, the other is ability to handle low impedances for long periods, and last its durability over a great amount of years. These are definately three keys I am trying to look for as I shop for my sub amp.
    I have been heavily looking into the QSC RMX amps, especially the 1450. You can find this for $429 including shipping from DJ Tronix http://search.shopping.yahoo.com/sea...450&pf=&pt=&X= If you ask me this is an excellent price. The lowest I have seen on the Crown CE1000 is $455.10 from CompetitionSound. http://search.shopping.yahoo.com/sea...000&pf=&pt=&X= This is also an excellent price. So either way I quoted a lower price than you were originally looking for. Also these amps seem to have the same market strategy/goal, which is to produce an amp that can dish out alot of power for a fraction of cost. So this puts you on the $ to watt ratio...
    Overall you can't loose or benefit from either amp.