What's new

Crown Amps? Pros Vs. conns???? (1 Viewer)

Steve Lucas

Stunt Coordinator
I am presently running a Marantz 6200 reciever in my home theater (dedicated room). I think my next upgrade will be a seperate pre/pro and amps. I have some experience in large systems, i.e. rock bands and large churches, and was wondering why I couldn't use Crown amps for my home theater?
I have a friend who is a dealer and can let me have them at his cost so they should be somewhat affordable.
Is there any reason I shouldn't use these? Or maybe reasons they would be even better than consumer electronic products?

I'd love to hear any and all opinions on this.

Here are links to a couple of models I am considering.

cts600

c2600

Thanks,
Steve

Karl_Luph

Supporting Actor
From what I've heard, the macro-tech line is excellent. The CE line is cheaper but not as highly rated. If you can get Crown at cost go for it!

RichardHOS

Second Unit
I don't understand the power rating of the cts600. Why would it produce more power into 8 ohms than 4, and more into 4 ohms than 2? Typo? Even if the impedances were just reversed, the numbers still wouldn't make sense.

Lewis Besze

Senior HTF Member
The CE series has a loud fan noise when it runs[not always on].I have a CE1000 to run one of my subs in bridged mode.

Ron_L

Second Unit
Steve...Steve....Buddy!!!

Forget Crown

Go with QSC

and not the shitty RMX line either....if your willing to put out the coin for pro amps...get the QSC mxa or DCA series.....

wayyyy better amp

they cost around the same as the crown ce series...the mxa that is.

and what speakers do you have??

alan halvorson

Senior HTF Member