What's new

Crossover Quandry / Please Help (1 Viewer)

GregBe

Second Unit
I have Cambridge Soundworks MC300 speakers for my left, center and right main speakers. These speakers have two 4" drivers and one 1" tweeter. The specs say they play down to 80 Hz. Recognizing that I need to set the crossover higher than 80, I toggled between 100 and 120 on my Onkyo 600 receiver (I set the low pass on the sub all the way up to defeat it). Male voices sounded a little thinner with a setting of 100 and more full with a 120 setting so I went with that. Not able to leave well enough alone, I started playing with DVE and a SPL meter the other day, and I came across the "Bass Management" section. It runs a sweep for each speaker (with the sub) as well as the whole system from 15 Hz up to 150 Hz or so. When I ran the sweep at 100, it appeared to be a big dropoff in SPL between 90-120 (a small portion actually went completely silent. When I ran the sweep with the 120 Hz crossover there was still a big dropoff between 100-120 Hz. This didn't seem right to me. I know that 120Hz is not an ideal crossover, but I figured that it would be far enough above the low end to at least get a full signal throughout the full range.
I thought that it might be something wrong with the Onkyo crossover settings, so I tried hooking the sub to the l/r main speakers, the main speakers out of the sub, set the main speakers to large and set the sub to off. Again not ideal, but I know that with Dolby's mfg requirements, I could set it up this way, and through bass management get all of the information from all of the channels.
What I found was interesting. Even with a low pass setting on the sub of 100 the dropoff went away.
1)Does this make any sense?
2)Could there be a malfunction in the receivers crossover circuitry?
3)Am I even running the right test from DVE to figure this out?