Crossover For My Sub

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by AbelM, Jan 5, 2002.

  1. AbelM

    AbelM Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where would this be located at? I don't quite know what it is, but I keep hearing it coming up. Is it the output lvl? Or what? 80Hz or something like that....AHHHH, I just thought my sub was sounding decent, a little help please!!
     
  2. Chriss M

    Chriss M Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    That would depend on your receiver. Some are fixed, and some are adjustable. If you have a powered sub then you most likely have a crossover adjustment on the sub as well. That one should be set as high as possible, or else the signal from the sub pre-out will be crossed over twice, once at the receiver and then again by the subwoofer's internal crossover.
     
  3. AbelM

    AbelM Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, here this is what I have:
    Yamaha RX-V520 Reciever and on the back of my powered sub (I think it is powered...difference?) all it has is the volume control, auto standby, my LFE input, LFE output for another sub to be connected, and speaker connections.
    Please help me!!![​IMG]
     
  4. Chriss M

    Chriss M Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    i believe the yamaha crossover is fixed at 90hz.
     
  5. AbelM

    AbelM Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I go about seting it...where...
     
  6. ColinM

    ColinM Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    0
    If the Yam manual doesn't say how to adjust the crossover point, and you don't stumble across it in any set-ups, consider it fixed at 90hz like Chriss said.

    Otherwise, most powered (plugs into the outlet for it's OWN built in amp) subs also have a dial called 'crossover' or 'slope' or something.

    For movies keep that dial (if you have it) 'wide open'.
     
  7. AbelM

    AbelM Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanx Collin, I don't see anything called crossover on the back of my sub, does this mean it is not a powered sub?

    If you remember me, which I hope you do, you remember I have my own sub cable going from the reicever into the subwoofer...if that helps at all...
     
  8. Chris_Morris

    Chris_Morris Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Powered subs have a plug for an electrical outlet. [​IMG]
     
  9. AbelM

    AbelM Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine does...
     
  10. AbelM

    AbelM Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Chris, that helped on me figuring this out!!
     

Share This Page