Creatine

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Mark Schermerhorn, Apr 16, 2002.

1. Mark Schermerhorn

Mark Schermerhorn Second Unit

There has been quite a few weightlifting/fitness threads as of late so I thought this might be a good time.

First some quick backround: I've been lifting weights regularly for about 3 months and have seen a lot of improvement. I'm not trying to lose weight, I've already finished that part. For supplements I've only been taking a multivitamin and after workouts I usually have a protein shake (and snack on some carbs).

So I've read in a number of places that a 4:1 carbs to protein ratio is best after working out. I've looked for powder supplements that fit this and the only ones I can find have creatine in them. So for anyone that's used creatine, how was the overall experience? I've read a fair amount on it but I really curious as to people's individual experiences. I'm not looking to get huge, but I wouldn't mind the boost that creatine seems to give.

So I'm also wondering if people have recommendations on powder supplements I've mentioned above, with and without creatine.

2. Greg Rowe

Greg Rowe Stunt Coordinator

Greg
    My creatine experience has been amazing. I have been lifting for about 9 years (since I was 13 or 14). When I started creatine I had been on a plataue (sp?) for a long time. In one month my bench increased by 20 pounds. Over approximately a 6 month period of time (using creatine) my bench increased 55 pounds. After 6 months I stopped seeing increases.

When I stopped taking creatine I lost a lot of strength, but I never quite got back to my pre creatine performance levels. I stayed off for 6 months.

Now I am back on it again but it has only been for 2 weeks.