Crack lines in stucco of my house. Normal? Worry?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Luc, Mar 25, 2002.

1. Luc

Luc Stunt Coordinator

Two year old house and between 8-24 months, a few crack lines show up in some area. There are 3, two of which are no thicker than two nickels but one is about a quarter of an inch. They're not long, end at corners or edge of the window frame. The builder won't fix it because it's normal they say and I've noticed that other houses with stucco have them too. It's my first home so I'm new to this and to house with stucco cover. Do I need to be concern?

2. Deane Johnson

Deane Johnson Supporting Actor

After the next earthquake, those small cracks probably won't seem very important. [​IMG]
    Deane

3. John Stone

John Stone Supporting Actor

My house is almost eight years old and last year the stucco began to develop a few cracks as well. They are all small cracks, none of them are anywhere close to a quarter of an inch. I have no idea what size cracks are considered "normal", but my understanding is that stucco cracks are a common occurrence. Hairline cracks can be filled just by painting, but I believe anything larger requires something like a pre-mix stucco product before painting. Thanks for reminding me, I need to get out there this weekend and repair mine. [​IMG]
    Anyone else have any experience with this type of repair? Product or repair procedure suggestions? I could use some advice too.

4. Danny Tse

Danny Tse Producer

Luc,

From across the Bay and on top of the Hayward fault, my house is 4 years old and have those cracks as well. And yes, from what my builder told me, they are normal as the stucco expands and contracts. If the cracks get too wide, then fill it with the pre-mix stucco patch (which you can pick up at places like Home Depot).

5. Julie K

Julie K Screenwriter