What's new

Couldn't get an SPL meter...but will this work? (1 Viewer)

Justin Ward

Supporting Actor
My high school teacher lent me a decibelmeter. It seems to be very sensitive though, even talking lightly puts it over 70 dB. Anyway, I don't think this will work for getting reference level but will it work well enough for matching the speaker volumes? Tomorrow I am getting my Paradigm Titans and I want to volume match them to my current Kenwood center and surround speakers. I figure even it if it is not really precise, it is probably closer that the result I get with my ears. Since I am not calibrating to reference level will I need a disc(I have Pearl Harbour with the THX optimode) or will the reciever test tones suffice? Thank You

Will Orth

Stunt Coordinator
Well I use my ears as I have been doing so for many years, and RTA REAL-TIME ANILIZER works best but costs alot!

Best thing is get a few buddies over and listen to your set-up and do a comprimise to what sounds best.

Hope that helps..

Will

Bill Kane

Screenwriter
Justin,

This "sounds" like a good experiment. See if you can prop the meter on a box (a big plastic milk carton box with the open holes wud be perfect, maybe on a cushion, too, to approximate one's ear level) in your listening seat. If it has scales to dial, set it for the 70 to 80dB range.

(The following may not apply, but if your meter has a "Weighting" adjustment, select "C." If it has a Response adjustment for fast/slow, set it for "slow." This helps keep the needle from bouncing so quickly).

By all means use the receiver's test tones. Read the manual twice.

Use the Left Main as your benchmark. While playing that tone, turn the receiver volume until you see the meter register 75dB as close as you can get. Take the average in the middle if you need to.