Could you explain dual zone receivers?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Mark_Sykes, Jan 15, 2003.

1. Mark_Sykes

Mark_Sykes Auditioning

I'm needing a little clarification on how dual zone works. We want to install a home theater system inside and also be able to power 4 outdoor speakers as well. My understanding of dual zone is that you can listen to dvd/cd/radio in zone A (inside) with surround sound?, or is it only 2 speakers, and also listen to cd/radio (outside) but is this only on 2 speakers or could it be 4 outdoors? So my questions is can the kids watch a dvd in surround sound indoors and also play a cd/radio on the speakers outdoors?

We origionally planned on 2 receivers 1 for the surround sound inside and 1 with a cd changer for the outdoor speakers.

But if this can be done with 1 receiver I would rather go that route.

I'm new at this so trying to learn, thanks for the help.
    Mark

2. Andy_SB

Andy_SB Agent

Mark, there are several different features that are sometimes referred to as "dual-zone".
    First, there are receivers with a simple A-B switch. You can hook two sets of speakers up, but the receiver can only power one at a time, whichever you choose.
    Receivers with dual-zone capability (but not dual-source) can power more than one set of speakers at a time, but only from one source.
    What you want is a receiver that has dual-source capability. This will allow you to not only power two sets of speakers, but it will also allow you to choose a different source for each set of speakers, so you could, for instance, watch a movie inside and play music outside.
    You'll need to check the specs of individual receivers to see the extent of their dual-zone capabilities. For instance, some receivers use the surround-back terminals to power the 2nd zone, so you can't have a 6.1 setup AND the 2nd zone.
    - Andy

3. Mark R O

Mark R O Stunt Coordinator