Could One Use AVIA To Calibrate 6.1, 7.1??

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Chuck C, Apr 13, 2002.

  1. Chuck C

    Chuck C Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,224
    Likes Received:
    1
    if not, then how is it done?

    thanks
     
  2. Bill Kane

    Bill Kane Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sound&Vision Home Theater Tune-Up, $15.00 at amazon.com, carries DD/Dts 5.1 AND 6.1 set-ups.

    There are other tone generating stratgies/discs, as you know.
     
  3. Chuck C

    Chuck C Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,224
    Likes Received:
    1
    the reason i asked is b/c my friend has 6.1 and wants to use my resources (avia and rs spl)...so now he has to get the s/v disc?
     
  4. Bill Kane

    Bill Kane Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    chuck, what about this idea...let's say you calibrate 5.1 w/ Avia and SPL meter.

    Now the the mains, ctr, rear surrounds are equal in listening position output.

    So then you engage the receiver's internal test tones and adjust the last center surround or whatever he's using to the same level as one of the RS, using the meter.

    If it works, it doesnt matter the ABSOLUTE level rather the RELATIVE levels of the speakers
     
  5. Jeff Engel

    Jeff Engel Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's exactly how I did my calibration recently. I used avia to get the 5.1 calibrated, then I went into the receiver's test tones and noted the volume. I then went into the rear surrounds and adjusted them to the same "corrected" volume from the other speakers.

    Jeff
     

Share This Page