Could 3802 be used as a pre/pro with a 7 channel amp?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Todd smith, Apr 18, 2002.

1. Todd smith

Todd smith Supporting Actor

Also could a equalizer be used in conjuction with the 3802? I know this is not prefered, but I listen to a lot of bootlegs and I like to tweak them with an eq. As long as the eq is off it wont affect the sound of movies if I want the pure denon sound correct? Probably wierd questions but I am a rookie!

2. John Morris

John Morris Guest

Todd: Probably. Are you putting the EQ before of after the 3802 and does the EQ have a switchable passthrough?

3. Todd smith

I have not even shoped the eq yet. In fact I dont even have the receiver yet. I would like to be able to add a eq eventually and just want to make sure I can, but I also want to know that it can be switched off when I watch movies and not have any efect on the movie audio. This would strictly be for my live cd's which I like to tweak. That is about all I can tell you. So what do you think? Thanks for the help. This whole forum is great.

4. BrentPollard

BrentPollard Second Unit

If you want to use the EQ for rare occasions such as for bootlegs, what I did was to use the various DSP modessuch as Jazz, Hall, etc turned down all the effects and then set EQ there. I have my old Pro logic Sony with 10 different EQ settings instead of 10 diff. crappy modes.
    Brent[​IMG]

5. Todd smith

I assume your sony is a seperate 10 band eq hooked into your 3802?

6. Earl Simpson

Earl Simpson Supporting Actor

Get the 5es Todd if you are into equalizers. Or check out the JVC 10, an awesome unit. I think the 5es has the best built in of the whole bunch, but i'm still looking at the jvc10(63 htz bass adjustment on equalizer for each channel).

7. Todd smith