Corrupted Profile in XP

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Chad Seymour, May 9, 2002.

  1. Chad Seymour

    Chad Seymour Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a way to restore a profile once it is corrupted? Here's the story...

    My PC has been working fine for quite some time when I noticed that it seemed to be slowing down, noticably. Ironically, that was shortly after installing Kazaa, but that's another story. I figured that I had a background process running, but couldn't find what it was. I then shut the machine down (properly). The next day when I went to turn it on, Xp started doing it's check disc process. I thought that a bit unusual since it had been shut down properly. Most of the time, I only get that after a sudden improper power down. After doing the checks, I got to the login screen, but when I tried to login to my profile, I got a message that the profile had been corrupted. Xp then "created" a new profile based on defaults and that became my new profile. The other profiles on the computer are still intact and work properly. How can I restore my profile with all my settings?

    Chad
     
  2. Drew Olufson

    Drew Olufson Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2000
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same thing happened to me. Though my PC restarted on it's own and then went through the disk check. When the login screen appeared, it informed me that my profile was corrupted and continued to log me on as a new user. I tried several attempts to get my profile back but to no avail. I even tried to reinstall XP which still did not work. I ended up reformating and reinstalling which was disheartening because after a couple of years you build up alot of files you'd like to keep around and I never seem to get them all backed up.

    I know this doesn't help you... but I thought you'd like to know you weren't alone with this problem.
     
  3. Chad Seymour

    Chad Seymour Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    All of my other data appears intact. The other profiles all seem to work fine too. I don't think I'm in need of reformatting or reinstalling. I think worst case, I would delete my old profile and just create a new one from scratch, but I may just be able to reset some pointers...

    Chad
     
  4. Neil Joseph

    Neil Joseph Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 1998
    Messages:
    8,332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Neil Joseph
    Maybe you can try restoring from a point in time before the problems.
     
  5. Chad Seymour

    Chad Seymour Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks all,

    I took Neil's suggestion and restored back to a point in time a week prior and everything is back up and running...

    Chad
     

Share This Page