"Copy protected" CDs and iTunes/iPod?

Discussion in 'Music' started by Ted Todorov, Mar 27, 2005.

1. Ted Todorov

Ted Todorov Cinematographer

I was about to pick up Benjamin Biolay's Negatif CD yesterday and I noticed a big "Copy Protected, may not work on your equipment" warning. This is a European CD, so it shouldn't be a surprise as there are greater CD copy protection efforts in Europe.

My question is, how bad is this beast? Will I still be able to rip to AAC in iTunes? My general impression was that the copy protection stuff tends to be PC centric, and Mac OS X will simply ignore it, but to my knowledge I have never bought a CP CD, so I have no personal experience.

Anyone know what the story is?

Thanks,
    Ted

2. DaveRU

DaveRU Stunt Coordinator

I've ripped all my "copy protected" CDs via iTunes with no problems. Just don't let the CD install anything on your computer [​IMG]

3. Chris Farmer

Chris Farmer Screenwriter

It also helps if you hold down the "shift" key when inserting the disc. That prevents the CD from auto-running any software when it first loads up. If you still have trouble, I don't remember the specifics, but drawing a ring around the outside of the CD with a black magic marker can also help deactivate some copy-protection schemes. A quick Google search can probably turn up more specific instructions. Any further methods that are more technical are probably off limits, but those are simple enough to probably be alright, especially since you're in Europe and outside the DMCA anyway. Mods, please correct me if I'm wrong.

4. Joel Fontenot

Joel Fontenot Supporting Actor

Joel Fontenot
    It also sounds like Ted is using a Mac OS, not Windows, so I'm pretty sure the "shift" trick is not applicable here.

5. Chris Farmer

Chris Farmer Screenwriter