convincing about widescreen !!!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by kevin_tomb, Mar 5, 2002.

1. kevin_tomb

kevin_tomb Stunt Coordinator

I sale TVs for a living and we always use DVDs to show off our TVs. Now of course we always use the widescreen version like the movie was intented to be watched. We get the most problems from OLD people. Almost every one of them has some dumbass comment about the widescreen. Some of my favorites are: "can you take those black bars off?" or "whats wrong with that TV?" or "How do they expect anyone to watch those DVDs??" or "Well im gonna wait a few years cause this DVD thing is so new still"

Younger people generally seem to understand widescreen, for the most part. I usually try to tell them about how they are missing up to about half the picture and sometimes they almost seem to understand, until they fire back..."YEAH BUT IM ALSO MISSING THE PART WHERE THE BLACK IS TOO RIGHT???" aarrghhhhhhh!!!!!!

2. Anders Englund

Anders Englund Second Unit

How about rolling the Why widescreen segment from Die Hard on one of the TVs?

--Anders

3. Brian Shannon

Brian Shannon Stunt Coordinator

How about a demo where you have two identical TV's, two identical dvd players and two identical dvd's. One OAR and one P/S. Run them both at the same time and use that to educate people.

4. Malcolm R

Malcolm R Executive Producer

Malcolm
    I think the analogy of movie screen vs. TV screen is sometimes the most straightforward.
    Movie screens are rectangles, wider than high. TV is a square (for all intents and purposes). You can't fit a rectangle in a square unless you cut off the sides.
    Perhaps if you had one of those toys that little kids have, putting the right shapes in the right shaped holes. Just have one with a rectangle and a square. Challenge them to put the rectangle piece in the square hole (without upending it, of course). Some knowledge of basic geometry and proportions always helps, as well. [​IMG]