What's new

Converting Power Cord to Battery Pack (1 Viewer)

Mike~Sileck

Supporting Actor
Hello everyone!

This is my first time in the DIY section. Thanks for any help you can provide.

Just a brief overview. I recently bought one of those pictures that has little lights on it at certain parts of the picture (it happens to be a picture of some cars, and the headlights actually *light up*). Anyways, its going to look great in my movie room, except for the long ugly cord that comes out from the bottom of it. I know I could hard wire it into my wall but to be honest it was a cheap little $50 dollar picture and I don't wanna work that hard for it. So this was my new plan. Build a little battery pack for it. There is space behind the frame for probably one or two 9v batteries, so hopefully this works out. Also, there is an on/off button, so I'll only have it on when I'm entertaining people, and the batteries should last a long time.

Anyways, here are the specifics. The cord connects to the picture via a typical circular input, one of the bigger ones (it seems to be about the same size as the PSP one. The transformer box that plugs into the wall says this:

MINI-PICS
AC WALL ADAPTER
FOR ELECTRONIC ART
Model: 35 - D09 - 300
Input: 120VAC 60hz 6w
Output: 9VDC 300mA
Class 2 Transformer

Now, I'm not really all that good at electrical stuff, but it's only a few lights, so I don't see why a 9v or two wouldnt work. Only problem is that I have no idea how to wire it all up. So, if y'all wouldn't mind lending a helping hand, could you guys give me a basic overview with pictures (or RadioShack links) for the type of things I need to pick up? Thank you so much for any help, and if you have any other questions then please ask.

Thanks
Michael Sileck

Joey Skinner

Second Unit