Converting 5.1 analog to DTS bitstream

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by David Weinberg, Mar 6, 2003.

  1. David Weinberg

    David Weinberg Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I seek a box that will take the six analog outputs from a DVD-Audio or SACD player and convert it to a 20-bit/48ksps bitstream to feed into my Lexicon DC-2. I am well aware that this will allegedly compromise the sound quality of the source, but this will meet my needs and prevent my having to spend even more money upgrading the processor. Thanks. DJW.
     
  2. AaronBatiuk

    AaronBatiuk Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why not consider a 5.1 analog preamp such as the Sony TA-P9000ES. This pure analog pre-amp was designed by Sony specifically for people in your situation (such as owners of its own TA-E9000ES pre-pro). It goes between your current 5.1 pre-pro and your amplifiers.

    See Oade Bros. (nice pictures of front and back), Stereophile, or Sony.
     
  3. David Weinberg

    David Weinberg Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I appreciate your thought, but I have been quite specific regarding my requirements. An analog unit will not provide me a DTS bitstream output. DJW.
     
  4. Jagan Seshadri

    Jagan Seshadri Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do a Google search using the keywords "dts hardware encoder".
    I found one result already. You will be able to find many more.

    This is the one I found:
    Hardware DTS Encoder

    It doesn't take in RCA analog outputs, but it takes in AES/EBU (professional-style) analog inputs. It is not 100% to your specifications but we're at least heading in the right direction. I'm sure you can take it from here.

    -JNS
     
  5. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    You don't want to know how much that thing costs [​IMG]
     
  6. AaronBatiuk

    AaronBatiuk Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  7. JeremyFr

    JeremyFr Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    see but the problem is he's wanting to convert Analog to digital in on his Pre/Pro. The CAE4 which is used for producing DVD's is digital in and digital out no analog connections they'd be useless in a studio environemnt. I'd say that you're pretty much out of luck in this idea if it was cheaply possible the companys that produce SACD/DVD-A would have already put a legal stop to it. They made it an analog output for the simple reason of not being able to copy the material on the disc digitally. I'd say you're pretty much stuck with getting a new pre/pro or living without multichannel music.
     
  8. Jagan Seshadri

    Jagan Seshadri Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  9. Justin Lane

    Justin Lane Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,149
    Likes Received:
    0
    David, it would be cheaper to buy a new processor then trying to find an on the fly digital encoder.

    What application are you trying to do this for, DVD-A or SACD? DVD-A already have backwards compatible DD and DTS tracks, so this would be unecessary, and every SACD has a Hi-res stereo track which can be passed through the analog outputs of a player an hooked up to any stereo input on your processor (i.e your current CD input). The only thing you would miss out on is Hi-res surround on DVD-A and SACD. You will still get low res DD and DTS surround on DVD-A of course.

    J
     

Share This Page