What's new

Continue or Start Over? (1 Viewer)

Shadow277

Auditioning
Real Name
Joseph
Hey everyone,

So I am pretty new to this whole audio even though I have music experience.
What I did will completely gross everyone out; I have cheap RCA speakers and some iLive subwoofer connected to a
Denon AVR-S510BT.
My question is, should I upgrade the speakers and subwoofer or just start over again from scratch? I would like to try and use the current amp because it has the codec good enough for video games (some games actually use DTS).

I have tried at looking different speaker options but it seems the connectivity is incompatible, unless I can just stuff the copper wire into the amp, regardless of the wire type.

Edit: My nighboors don't care if I am too loud.
My speakers (Without the avr)
https://www.walmart.com/ip/RCA-Blue...5035&wl11=online&wl12=105223402&wl13=&veh=sem

Last edited:

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
I don't know what speakers you are looking at, but that is a conventional receiver, and will work with any conventional speaker that isn't part of some package system that has proprietary connections.

DaveF

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave
Speakers are perhaps the most important part of the system. If you've got a competent AVR -- which is pretty much any device from major brands -- going from bad speakers to decent speakers will give bit improvements in sound quality.

Dave Moritz

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave Moritz