What's new

Constant height, throw distance, and other questions (1 Viewer)

Joel Stein

Stunt Coordinator
Hey all, newbie here so please be gentle...

16' x 13' family room. I really want a constant height set-up. I'm on a budget, so I'm thinking something like InFocus 4805 or SP5000 with a lens. My questions--

To figure out the layout of the room and potential projector placement, I've gone to those projector calculator webpages. But they all assume 16:9 screen, not 2.35:1. So how should I use these calculators? Use height, even though my actual screen width will be greater than theirs, or use width, even though my actual screen height will be less than theirs? Follow what I'm getting at?

I've searched forums about CH set-ups, and most people talk about easily switching between 16:9 and 2.35:1 aspect ratios. But everyone seems strangely mum on how these set-ups handle 4:3. Anyone? I have lots of old movies.

What about other less-common aspect ratios such as 1.66:1 or 2.00:1? Do you simply use the projector's zoom to compensate? If I understand correctly, the InFocus projectors do not have remote zoom, so you'd have to do manual zoom then. (A serious pain in the ass if you use a ceiling mount. That's why I'm considering using a shelf for the projector...but then I could run into throw distance/seating difficulties.)

What about running vhs through a set-up like this? (Not everything is on dvd yet.) You'd have to bypass the anamorphic lens, but then how would one expand a letterboxed videotape to fill the screen? Zooming? Of course I understand it would look like crap, but hopefully if the screen isn't too large, it would look merely like crap instead of absolute super-duper crap.

Finally, am I correct that overscan is not an issue with front projectors?

Thanks!

John S

Senior HTF Member
The SP5000 definetly has an overscan feature you can turn it off and on.