What's new

considering DIY speakers (1 Viewer)

JohnVB

Stunt Coordinator
Hi,

I'm considering what speakers to get for HT. We're also trying to get our backyard done. The less I spend on HT, the more I can spend on my backyard, which the wife would like for sure.

It appears that DIY speakers are a lot cheaper. But I'm wondering what skills are needed. I don't have a workshop in the garage or anything, so I would need something fairly prefab.

Would I need to buy a soldering iron? Last time I used a soldering iron was pretty much in an electronics class in high school.

Are DIY speakers pretty simple, or should I stick to pre-built ones?

FYI, I've built a few computers from parts, which is mostly just putting parts together and installing the O/S and drivers.

- bones

Darren_T

Second Unit
Howdy Bones,
I recently built my first set of speakers and sub and they turned out great. Extremely easy. Of course, I'm a woodworker hobbiest so I had all the tools and experience. I don't feel you need any special skills to build speaker boxes well though. Having the woodworking skills for making the MDF is quite an advantage though, but becomes more of a requirement when you do more exotic finishing on the speakers...veneer, hardwoods, different profiles etc. If you leave it MDF and paint it you will find it isn't too difficult. Just some patience and a friend with a tablesaw and a couple other tools is all you need. I built a DIY Tempest Sub and am extremely pleased with the results. It cost 300 bucks for parts, about 350 with the MDF. I decided to finish the sub with solid and veneer cherry wood which brought my total up to about 550. I'll tell you one thing...after getting the sub set up correctly I can state without a doubt that I've never heard any other sub that even comes close to the performance of my Tempest. Granted I haven't heard a ton of subs but I've listened to quite a few.