Connections to old TV

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Pam_S, Jan 21, 2004.

  1. Pam_S

    Pam_S Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi all!
    In my bedroom I have an old TV with only one connection. I also have a Directv box. I currently have a VCR connected. I would also like to connect a DVD, but can't figure out how since the TV only has one connection.
    Any ideas?

    Thanks,
    Pam
     
  2. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When you say "One connection", do you mean like one set of RCA composite jacks-- or one connection like RF (the screw type connector with audio and video in one)?

    You can get a cheap A/V selector from radioshack... and then if you need to convert the signal to RF, you can also get a RF modulator.

    -Vince
     
  3. Pam_S

    Pam_S Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    All the TV has is an RF connector.
     
  4. JeffPhill

    JeffPhill Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does your vcr have an aux. input (red, white, and yellow)? If so, connect to it.
     
  5. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Of course if you use a VCR as the converter, macrovision will kick in and the picture on DVD will darken/lighten every 30 seconds.

    RF modulator and a switcher will be your solution.
     
  6. PaulT

    PaulT Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As Vince said, get an RF Modulator. Here's one from Radio Shack for 30 bucks:
    http://www.radioshack.com/product.as...5Fid=15%2D1214
    The one I purchased last year 'auto senses' when the DVD player is turned on and switches inputs to DVD by itself. When the DVD player is turned off, it reverts back to Cable input.
     
  7. JeffPhill

    JeffPhill Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, I didn't know about the macrovision problem.
     
  8. Bill Will

    Bill Will Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    First before you buy a Modulator try plugging the DVD player into your VCR because on some VCR's they will pass the picture to your TV without the "Macrovision" kicking in because it will only kick in when you press the Record button on the VCR which is to prevent you from copying copyrighted DVD's.
     

Share This Page