Connection problems...Help!!!!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Howie Hsu, Jun 5, 2002.

  1. Howie Hsu

    Howie Hsu Extra

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,
    I just received today my Onkyo SR600, and my JBL NSP-1 speakers. In addition I have a Sony Wega 27" (has a component and S-video connections) and a Panasonic DVD RV31 (has component and S-video) and my Scientific Atlanta digital cable box (has S-Video but NO Component video connections) I've been at it for a while trying to get it to work, but I'm having major problems.
    First question: If my digital cable box does not have components, does that mean I have to use ALL s-video connection for my system to work properly?
    Second question: What is the setup I need?
    I was assuming I could connect my TV, DVD to the receiver using components and my cable box to the receiver using S-video but I don't think that works.
    I'm lost on what I should do.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Howie Hsu

    Howie Hsu Extra

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I forgot to add, since I was so flustered already, I also have a Sony Tivo SVR2000. It's going to be a long night.....
     
  3. Jeffrey Forner

    Jeffrey Forner Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 1999
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Howie;

     
  4. Howie Hsu

    Howie Hsu Extra

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks alot Jeff, I'm going to try that out now. I've been pulling my hair out for the last couple hours. I refuse to go to work tomorrow until I finish it. At this point, I can't even get the cable connection working properly.
    Also, stupid question, but the cable wire from the wall goes into the Cable Box IN right? Here is what I think it should be then according to your advice?



    Cable Box:

    S-video OUT to Receiver Video 2 IN
    Digital Coxial to Receiver Coaxial

    Tivo:

    S-video OUT to Receiver Video 1 IN

    TV:
    S-video OUT to Receiver Monitor

    DVD:
    Component OUT to TV Component 1 IN

    Thanks!! I will try this out now
     
  5. Jeffrey Forner

    Jeffrey Forner Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 1999
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  6. Howie Hsu

    Howie Hsu Extra

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks again Jeff, well I've gotten the DVD working which is a good thing but for some odd reason I can't get Cable or even regular cable to work. Does the Tivo have to be hooked up in order for my Cable to work? The most simple step (and probably first) is for some odd reason becoming quite a problem for me the newbie. The reason I haven't hooked up the Tivo is I only have a couple S-videos and probably have to go out and get some tomorrow morning. But if I know my cable won't work without Tivo, then I'll just go to sleep!! :/
     
  7. Jeffrey Forner

    Jeffrey Forner Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 1999
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    You'll need to select the S-Video connection on your TV in order to be able to see anything from your cable box. Make sure you do that.
     
  8. Howie Hsu

    Howie Hsu Extra

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still not getting any cable video. [​IMG] Do I need to connect the cable OUT on the converter to anywhere???
     
  9. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Howie,

    Just for the time being- I would bypass the receiver (let's make sure the cable box works properly before doing anything else).

    1) Connect the cable coax cable coming out of the wall into the cablebox coax connector marked IN.

    2) Run a SVIDEO cable directly into your TV set's SVIDEO INPUT from the output on the cable box. Also run a set of analog audio RCA cables from the output on the cable box to the input on the TV.

    Make sure you go into an INPUT on the TV with the SVIDEO and Audio cables.

    3) Turn the box on. Turn the TV on.

    4) You wil probably need to switch the video inputs on the TV to find the one the cable box is connected to. You might be able to tell when you plug it into the TV (the input name should be labelled)-- and then consult your TV manual to figure out how to switch video inputs.

    5) Double check all connections. Make sure the cable is connected to the INPUT on the box. Make sure that the Svideo from the box is coming from an output. Make sure that the Svideo is plugged into the TV in an INPUT (and try to determine which input number if there are more than one).

    6) When you get the proper input selected on the TV, are you getting video from the cable box? Are you geting audio? LEt's get this far, then we'll worry about getting it all hooked up properly.

    Let me know

    -V
     
  10. Howie Hsu

    Howie Hsu Extra

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check. With this connection, have audio and video (all channels) working fine. (included a RF cable out from Converter to VHF/UF in on TV)
     
  11. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't say to run a RF coax from the Box to the TV. Disconnect it. Make sure you have video and audio coming in via the svideo/audio connections on the set from the svideo/audio outputs on the box. Ignore the RF coax connection- it's not needed and will only serve to confuse this (which is why I specifically didn't mention it in my previous post).
    Remove the RF connection- and MAKE 100% SURE you're getting video on the svideo input on the set. If so, then continue the following steps:
    Don't change anything except what I tell you to change- do exactly this:
    1) Disconnect the SVIDEO cable from the TV, leaving the other end plugged into the cable box.
    2) Connect that SVIDEO cable to the receiver's VIDEO 2 Svideo Input.
    3) Run a SVIDEO cable from the Receiver's MONITOR OUT to the same SVIDEO input on the TV where you had the cable box connected to previously.
    4) Turn on the receiver and switch the receiver to Video 2, do you get a picture?
    -Vince
     
  12. Michael Lomker

    Michael Lomker Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't see Vince mention the Tivo. When I had mine I ran the s-video and RCA's from the cable box to the Tivo. Then run s-video from the Tivo to the TV. You'd then run the RCA audio outs from the Tivo to your receiver.
    One of the problems with the Tivo is that it basically eliminates your ability to use the coax audio out from the cable box. The problem is that the Tivo delays the video a second or two from real-time so your digital audio and the video don't synch up. Hence you are stuck using the RCA's from the Tivo for your audio.
    I recently go rid of my Tivo for this very reason....I wasn't willing to give up digital audio for the sake of the Tivo. Your only other option would be to get a second cable box just for the Tivo...which is even more $$ per month.
    Howie, if you haven't been to www.tivocommunity.com then you should check it out.
     
  13. Howie Hsu

    Howie Hsu Extra

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, audio and video are working now after s-vid changes (steps 1-4). Thanks for bearing with me Vince, it must be frustrating...
     
  14. Howie Hsu

    Howie Hsu Extra

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Mike,
    I actually have been to Tivocommunity BEFORE I got the receiver/speakers. I guess now it opens up a whole new can of worms. [​IMG] Since I got a (probably pre-mature) lifetime subscription of Tivo, it looks like I will be forced to use the RCA audio. But does having the digital audio, in your opinion, on regular cable really worth getting rid of Tivo for?
     
  15. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    So now we've determined that the cable box is working. I'd leave the svideo cable running from the receiver to the TV input.

    Then, I would follow Michael's TIVO setup advice above.

    Connect the Outputs (SVIDEO and audio cables) from the Cable Box into the Tivo inputs, and then route the Tivo outputs (SVIDEO and AUDIO) back to the receiver's Video 2. This should give you cable video through the Tivo, giving you tivo functionality. I don't own a TIVO, so I might be at a loss for any specifics on thsi device-- but the basic concepts should be simple, and the above routing should make it happen.

    From there- I'd wire up the DVD player to the receiver using Svideo, and also run the Component cables from the DVD to the TV directly. That way, you can still switch video using the receiver for all Svideo devices (including DVD)... and if you want to, you can switch the TV input to the component input and get the slight improvement in the DVD picture-- but you'll have video both ways.

    This way- everything should work fine.

    Let me know if you have additional problems
     
  16. Howie Hsu

    Howie Hsu Extra

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Vince,
    Thanks so much for your help. You won't believe how much this has helped. The concepts seemed so simple to me but yet for some odd reason, it didn't work. I should stick to my day-job...need any stock tips? [​IMG]
    By the way, this site has just added another lifetime member. Hopefully, I'll pass the newbie level at some point.
    Thanks again!
     
  17. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Howie,

    Glad to hear this helped. Really the key is usually when you have problems, take a step back and eleimate possible problems and add elements one step at a time. As you go, if it stops working, it's easier to find the issue.

    So, if nothing else, take away this lesson:
    One step at a time, simplify and work slowly.

    -Vince
     

Share This Page