What's new

Connection problems...Help!!!! (1 Viewer)

Howie Hsu

Grip
Joined
Jun 3, 2002
Messages
21
Hi all,
I just received today my Onkyo SR600, and my JBL NSP-1 speakers. In addition I have a Sony Wega 27" (has a component and S-video connections) and a Panasonic DVD RV31 (has component and S-video) and my Scientific Atlanta digital cable box (has S-Video but NO Component video connections) I've been at it for a while trying to get it to work, but I'm having major problems.
First question: If my digital cable box does not have components, does that mean I have to use ALL s-video connection for my system to work properly?
Second question: What is the setup I need?
I was assuming I could connect my TV, DVD to the receiver using components and my cable box to the receiver using S-video but I don't think that works.
I'm lost on what I should do.
:frowning:
 

Howie Hsu

Grip
Joined
Jun 3, 2002
Messages
21
I forgot to add, since I was so flustered already, I also have a Sony Tivo SVR2000. It's going to be a long night.....
 

Jeffrey Forner

Screenwriter
Joined
Jun 19, 1999
Messages
1,117
Howie;

I was assuming I could connect my TV, DVD to the receiver using components and my cable box to the receiver using S-video but I don't think that works.
It won't work because your receiver will not convert an S-Video signal into a component signal.
 

Howie Hsu

Grip
Joined
Jun 3, 2002
Messages
21
Thanks alot Jeff, I'm going to try that out now. I've been pulling my hair out for the last couple hours. I refuse to go to work tomorrow until I finish it. At this point, I can't even get the cable connection working properly.
Also, stupid question, but the cable wire from the wall goes into the Cable Box IN right? Here is what I think it should be then according to your advice?



Cable Box:

S-video OUT to Receiver Video 2 IN
Digital Coxial to Receiver Coaxial

Tivo:

S-video OUT to Receiver Video 1 IN

TV:
S-video OUT to Receiver Monitor

DVD:
Component OUT to TV Component 1 IN

Thanks!! I will try this out now
 

Jeffrey Forner

Screenwriter
Joined
Jun 19, 1999
Messages
1,117
the cable wire from the wall goes into the Cable Box IN right?
Yes.
Those connections look like they will work fine, with a few minor corrections.
TV:
S-Video Monitor Out on the Receiver to the S-Video In on your TV.
The TiVo will probably require two sets of connections:
S-Video Out on the TiVo to the S-Video In on the receiver
and
S-Video Out on the receiver to the S-Video in on the Tivo.
If you want to be able to record shows on the TiVo and watch them, you'll need a set of cables going in and out of both the receiver and TiVo. That's why you need to have twice as many connections.
Also, don't forget to connect all the audio cables! :D
 

Howie Hsu

Grip
Joined
Jun 3, 2002
Messages
21
Thanks again Jeff, well I've gotten the DVD working which is a good thing but for some odd reason I can't get Cable or even regular cable to work. Does the Tivo have to be hooked up in order for my Cable to work? The most simple step (and probably first) is for some odd reason becoming quite a problem for me the newbie. The reason I haven't hooked up the Tivo is I only have a couple S-videos and probably have to go out and get some tomorrow morning. But if I know my cable won't work without Tivo, then I'll just go to sleep!! :/
 

Jeffrey Forner

Screenwriter
Joined
Jun 19, 1999
Messages
1,117
You'll need to select the S-Video connection on your TV in order to be able to see anything from your cable box. Make sure you do that.
 

Howie Hsu

Grip
Joined
Jun 3, 2002
Messages
21
Still not getting any cable video. :frowning: Do I need to connect the cable OUT on the converter to anywhere???
 

Vince Maskeeper

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jan 18, 1999
Messages
6,500
Howie,

Just for the time being- I would bypass the receiver (let's make sure the cable box works properly before doing anything else).

1) Connect the cable coax cable coming out of the wall into the cablebox coax connector marked IN.

2) Run a SVIDEO cable directly into your TV set's SVIDEO INPUT from the output on the cable box. Also run a set of analog audio RCA cables from the output on the cable box to the input on the TV.

Make sure you go into an INPUT on the TV with the SVIDEO and Audio cables.

3) Turn the box on. Turn the TV on.

4) You wil probably need to switch the video inputs on the TV to find the one the cable box is connected to. You might be able to tell when you plug it into the TV (the input name should be labelled)-- and then consult your TV manual to figure out how to switch video inputs.

5) Double check all connections. Make sure the cable is connected to the INPUT on the box. Make sure that the Svideo from the box is coming from an output. Make sure that the Svideo is plugged into the TV in an INPUT (and try to determine which input number if there are more than one).

6) When you get the proper input selected on the TV, are you getting video from the cable box? Are you geting audio? LEt's get this far, then we'll worry about getting it all hooked up properly.

Let me know

-V
 

Howie Hsu

Grip
Joined
Jun 3, 2002
Messages
21
Check. With this connection, have audio and video (all channels) working fine. (included a RF cable out from Converter to VHF/UF in on TV)
 

Vince Maskeeper

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jan 18, 1999
Messages
6,500
I didn't say to run a RF coax from the Box to the TV. Disconnect it. Make sure you have video and audio coming in via the svideo/audio connections on the set from the svideo/audio outputs on the box. Ignore the RF coax connection- it's not needed and will only serve to confuse this (which is why I specifically didn't mention it in my previous post).
Remove the RF connection- and MAKE 100% SURE you're getting video on the svideo input on the set. If so, then continue the following steps:
Don't change anything except what I tell you to change- do exactly this:
1) Disconnect the SVIDEO cable from the TV, leaving the other end plugged into the cable box.
2) Connect that SVIDEO cable to the receiver's VIDEO 2 Svideo Input.
3) Run a SVIDEO cable from the Receiver's MONITOR OUT to the same SVIDEO input on the TV where you had the cable box connected to previously.
4) Turn on the receiver and switch the receiver to Video 2, do you get a picture?
-Vince
 

Michael Lomker

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
May 17, 2002
Messages
164
I didn't see Vince mention the Tivo. When I had mine I ran the s-video and RCA's from the cable box to the Tivo. Then run s-video from the Tivo to the TV. You'd then run the RCA audio outs from the Tivo to your receiver.
One of the problems with the Tivo is that it basically eliminates your ability to use the coax audio out from the cable box. The problem is that the Tivo delays the video a second or two from real-time so your digital audio and the video don't synch up. Hence you are stuck using the RCA's from the Tivo for your audio.
I recently go rid of my Tivo for this very reason....I wasn't willing to give up digital audio for the sake of the Tivo. Your only other option would be to get a second cable box just for the Tivo...which is even more $$ per month.
Howie, if you haven't been to www.tivocommunity.com then you should check it out.
 

Howie Hsu

Grip
Joined
Jun 3, 2002
Messages
21
Yes, audio and video are working now after s-vid changes (steps 1-4). Thanks for bearing with me Vince, it must be frustrating...
 

Howie Hsu

Grip
Joined
Jun 3, 2002
Messages
21
Thanks Mike,
I actually have been to Tivocommunity BEFORE I got the receiver/speakers. I guess now it opens up a whole new can of worms. :frowning: Since I got a (probably pre-mature) lifetime subscription of Tivo, it looks like I will be forced to use the RCA audio. But does having the digital audio, in your opinion, on regular cable really worth getting rid of Tivo for?
 

Vince Maskeeper

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jan 18, 1999
Messages
6,500
So now we've determined that the cable box is working. I'd leave the svideo cable running from the receiver to the TV input.

Then, I would follow Michael's TIVO setup advice above.

Connect the Outputs (SVIDEO and audio cables) from the Cable Box into the Tivo inputs, and then route the Tivo outputs (SVIDEO and AUDIO) back to the receiver's Video 2. This should give you cable video through the Tivo, giving you tivo functionality. I don't own a TIVO, so I might be at a loss for any specifics on thsi device-- but the basic concepts should be simple, and the above routing should make it happen.

From there- I'd wire up the DVD player to the receiver using Svideo, and also run the Component cables from the DVD to the TV directly. That way, you can still switch video using the receiver for all Svideo devices (including DVD)... and if you want to, you can switch the TV input to the component input and get the slight improvement in the DVD picture-- but you'll have video both ways.

This way- everything should work fine.

Let me know if you have additional problems
 

Howie Hsu

Grip
Joined
Jun 3, 2002
Messages
21
Vince,
Thanks so much for your help. You won't believe how much this has helped. The concepts seemed so simple to me but yet for some odd reason, it didn't work. I should stick to my day-job...need any stock tips? ;)
By the way, this site has just added another lifetime member. Hopefully, I'll pass the newbie level at some point.
Thanks again!
 

Vince Maskeeper

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jan 18, 1999
Messages
6,500
Howie,

Glad to hear this helped. Really the key is usually when you have problems, take a step back and eleimate possible problems and add elements one step at a time. As you go, if it stops working, it's easier to find the issue.

So, if nothing else, take away this lesson:
One step at a time, simplify and work slowly.

-Vince
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Sign up for our newsletter

and receive essential news, curated deals, and much more







You will only receive emails from us. We will never sell or distribute your email address to third party companies at any time.

Forum statistics

Threads
357,606
Messages
5,141,746
Members
144,423
Latest member
dvdh09
Recent bookmarks
0
Top