Connecting VGA to RGB/HV???

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by William Ward, Jun 28, 2001.

  1. William Ward

    William Ward Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2000
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm planning on getting a Mitsubishi 55807 with the RGB/HV inputs. I'm also interested in the RCA DTC100 HD receiver. This has a VGA output similar to computers. How would I go about connecting these two??? DO they make some kind of VGA to RBG/HV converter similar to the VGA to Component???
    ------------------
    William
    Go Bucs!!
    MyDVDs
     
  2. Matt_R

    Matt_R Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, RCA makes their own transcoder - I believe it's around $120 and you can find it at Best Buy or Circuit City.
    OR, you can get breakout cables... MUCH cheaper, although I'm not familiar with them, so maybe someone else will step in...
     
  3. William Ward

    William Ward Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2000
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What exactly is a "breakout cable" or do you know??
    ------------------
    William
    Go Bucs!!
    MyDVDs
     
  4. Kevin Coleman

    Kevin Coleman Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    William,
    You can get VGA to RGBHV breakout cables at most computer stores. That is where I bought mine and it works great. It has a VGA connector on one end and your RGB+HV on the other end. You can usually find them for about 15 bucks.
    Kevin C. [​IMG]
     
  5. Abdul Jalib

    Abdul Jalib Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can also get VGA breakout cables athttp://www.digitalconnection.comClick to subscribe to Philips_HDTV discussion group
     
  6. AllenD

    AllenD Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2000
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    William,
    Not only do you not need a transcoder but you can't use it for VGA to RGBHV to connect the DTC-100 to your 55807. As mentioned, all you'll need is a Male VGA to RGBHV breakout cable.
    ------------------
     

Share This Page