Connecting RF Only TV

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jason Wolters, Dec 23, 2001.

  1. Jason Wolters

    Jason Wolters Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am getting ready to help a friend hook up his new Onkyo and Sony DVD player. He has a 27" TV with RF only input. If I run everything through the receiver than I am relegated to using the VCR tuner for watching regular cable TV? I plan to use an RF modulator to take the video from the Receiver to the TV. That will render the TV tuner useless, will it not? I would think I would have to try and use some sort of A/B switch or something to still use the TV tuner. Any thoughts?
     
  2. Bill_Weinreich

    Bill_Weinreich Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2000
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You are probably right. You would need an A/B switch to effectively use the tv's tuner but why? The vcr or cable box should do the job.

    P.S. your friend would be much happier if you can talk them into a newer set.

    Bill
     
  3. Christian Dolan

    Christian Dolan Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jason,

    The outboard modulator shouldn't render your tuner useless. It should just pass the tuned channel along whichever modulation channel (3 or 4) you have selected. As for the switch, most mod's are dual input (one RF and one A/V). The cheaper ones are manual select, but I used to use a $30 model from Rat Shack that was auto switching. Whenever I powered up the DVD, the mod would sense voltage at the A/V input and switch automatically. Pretty neat. Hope this helps.

    -Christian
     

Share This Page