connecting external amp to Yamaha rx-v1

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Miles Lucasso, Apr 1, 2002.

  1. Miles Lucasso

    Miles Lucasso Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi all,

    Trying to hook up an external 5.1 amp to my rx-v1.

    I currently have two sets of speakers hooked up A/B sides.

    Which I use when listening to music.

    For movies I want to be able to turn off B side,(which sits in the back of the room) and power a second set of mains front side.

    I have been unpluging and replugging in the appropriate speakers.

    Since I have a second amp, I thought I could connect the pre-out mains on the receiver to the second amp and

    then just turn on the second amp when watching movies.

    ** problem is: when I plug into the pre-out main on the receiver, both A/B sides stop working on the receiver

    and only the mains hooked up the the amp work.

    Is there a way of doing what I want with out buying a speaker switcher?

    -miles
     
  2. Jon Carlson

    Jon Carlson Extra

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 1998
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a yamaha RX-V2095, a poor relation to yours, which has jumpers between the pre-out and main-in. I look for tips and tricks occasionally for Yamahas, and came across this tip using search a while ago. The post was from Keith Mickunas (don't want to steal credit) and it looks like you would NEED to put a y-connector from your pre-out to pre-in on the RX-V1, with the other end of the y to your external amp. This should maintain the signal to the RX-V1 (read Keith's words below for more detail). Then just turn off A and/or B speakers from the front panel of the RX-V1 when you want to use the external amp with or without speakers powered from the RX-V1. No guarantees, but seems like it should work, and the only thing it would cost is a couple of Y cables. But I've only looked at the back of the 2095, so it may not work for you. Good Luck.

    Keith Mickunas posted: "With the RX-V1 when you plug something into the pre-out, a pin is lifted and the signal to the amp is cut. I'm guessing that will cut the signal to the amp which feeds both outputs (A/B). Plug an RCA cable into the pre-out and see what happens.

    There might be a way around this though. You could use a y-cable to connect the pre-out to the amp and the pre-in. Then turn off the A speakers. However this could reduce the signal to the amp which could cause a loss of volume. Only way to know is to test with your receiver."
     
  3. Martin Rendall

    Martin Rendall Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2000
    Messages:
    1,043
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    An interesting idea. Theoretically, you could boost your main channels 3dB relative to the other channels, and be good to go. I wonder if this could damage the Yammie over time, though?

    Martin.
     
  4. Miles Lucasso

    Miles Lucasso Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I will check this out.

    -miles
     

Share This Page