What's new

Connecting Computer to HT (1 Viewer)

George Parrish

Auditioning
I've been lurking this great site for sometime but now I need some help from the HT Gods. I hope I'm posting in the right place.

I'm a electrician by trade and have a customer building a new house and he wants to play MP3s from his computer through his home theater system. He doesn't own a system yet so right now everything is just pre-wire.

My question is: What wire should I pull from his office to the family room and what do I use for a wall jack? The run is about 25'. Thanks

Mike LS

Supporting Actor
That's really going to depend on the computer he uses.

If he's just going to use a basic soundcard then you'd want to run RCA cables and put a left/right RCA jack in the wall.

If he's planning to use a digital soundcard, it'll depend on the specific card.

John Parris

Stunt Coordinator
It'll probably be either digital coaxial or TOS-link optical output from a S/PDIF card if he goes that route... You would have to know ahead of time to get the right wall plate. RCA would be much easier, but I've noticed that a trip of over 40 ft. can get you into a lot of interferance, particularly around higher voltage power areas (washer/dryer, etc.)

Vince Maskeeper

Senior HTF Member
I'd personally run two lines of RG6 (well shielded- maybe use Canare LV5CFB) and cap each end with RCA female jacks in a mudring and a panel.

Using this config- you could pass either digital or analog. If you go digital- you'd have a second unused line run- but at least you're ready for future configs.

You may end up neededing a 1/8th inch stereo male to stereo RCA male cable to go from the computer to the wall jack (if analog) or a short RCA-RCA male cable for digital.

I personally suggest 6-10 runs of RG6 to be run from each room to a central area (basement or media room) and you pretty much could patch any possible config of audio and video distribution (send or receive) you need.

-Vince

Sihan Goi

Second Unit