Connect video direct or through AV Receiver

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by SteveCoug, Jul 19, 2004.

  1. SteveCoug

    SteveCoug Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another "newbie" question ...

    I have just purchased an AV receiver with lots of video input and output connections.

    I assume that I am better off connecting my video source (i.e. DVD player, Sat. Dish receiver) directly to my video projector, rather than running through the receiver and then out to the video projector.

    Am I correct?

    Or is there no signal loss or degredation by running the video through the receiver before it gets to the video projector?
     
  2. StephenHa

    StephenHa Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    0
    there is slight picture loss the benifit of using the receiver is you only have to switch one component to get a picture
     
  3. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    You are correct - a direct connection is better.

    But... when you have a HD Cable box, a Progressive Scan DVD player and add a XBox with 480p output - you run out of inputs straight to the projector.

    You then have 2 choices:

    - Run video through your reciever
    - Buy an external switch box

    Look at the specs on the reciever. You are looking for "Bandwidth" on the component video inputs. If it says something like 90-100 Mhz - it is compatible with HD video.

    If it says something like 25-30 Mhz - the most it can handle is 480p.

    Just be aware that in broadcast studios, production houses, switchers are used all the time for video. Yes, these are 'professional' grade equipment, but that just means they were designed for HD video frequencies.
     
  4. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    And if it is 50mhz, I guess it is a try and see sort of thing...


    I find the component video switching on my Denon 4802 to cause no detectable effects and it is rated at 50mhz. I am forced to use it, so good thing it worked well for me.

    I know others that switch through their 50mhz rated AVRs with similar results to mine as well.
     
  5. Brendan D

    Brendan D Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    On my VSX-D850s...the only specs I see for Video output are listed as:

    "Frequency response
    VCR/DVR, DVD/LD, TV/SAT, Video- Monitor
    .................................5Hz to 7Hz"

    Can't find any specs regarding the component bandwith...any suggestions?
     
  6. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    is he even using high-bandwidth connections?

    i say go through the receiver...make your life easier. well, i actually say do a test yourself and see if you notice a diff. even one better ... have someone else do the wiring so you don't know which you're looking at.

    check out the primer as well..i've got a long-winded article on this. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page