What's new

Confussed (Dolby Digital/Dolby 5.1)? (1 Viewer)

Craig_K

Auditioning
Are they the same? Reason im askin is, I have a Pioneer VSX-D509S receiver w/5.1 inputs. Also have a Philips DVD-950 w/5.1 outputs. Now, when playing a 5.1 dvd, what gives the best results, listening in Dolby Digital or 5.1? Or does DD put out the 5.1 signal and I wasted money on buying (expensive) cables to connect the 5.1 outs on the dvd to the 5.1 ins on the receiver?
I am new to this stuff. I did "search", but my question is still unanswered.
Thanks for any help.....Take Care All
Craig

Inspector Hammer!

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John Williamson
Craig, welcome to the forum!
DD and DD 5.1 are one and the same. The thing to remember is DD can mean anything on dvd, it can mean 2.0, 5.0, 5.1, 4.0, it can even mean mono. So just because a dvd says DD on it, doesn't nessasarily mean that it's 5.1, but just about all of the new releases are in 5.1 and more classic titles are being given new 5.1 soundtracks, like Halloween, and I just bought Phantasm last week and it boasts a new 5.1 track even thoght the movie was originally mono in theaters.
Also I noticed that you use the words "inputs" and "outputs" in the plural form, is your dvd player and reciever "5.1 Ready", or are you just reffering to the single digital outputs and inputs on your equipment? If you player is just an average everyday player, it should have two options for the digital audio...
1. Digital coax output (looks like an average rca input) or...
2. Digital optical output (uses a cable thats delivers the audio to your reciever through a beam of light)
In case your wondering, it's an open debate whether one is better than the other, but I thnk most people agree that you can't go wrong using either one, I use digital coaxial myself.
------------------
"How can I heal, when I can't feel time?"
Leonard from Memento
[Edited last by John Williamson on September 08, 2001 at 09:04 AM]

Shade Watson

Stunt Coordinator