Computer illiterate WebTV user with "new" computer, a couple of ISP questions..

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Steve Schaffer, Jun 24, 2003.

1. Steve Schaffer

Steve Schaffer Producer

I've been using WebTV for several years now and finally got a used computer. It's a Gateway with a Pentium 3 933mhz processor and dial-up modem. It has Windows XP already installed.

My experience with and knowledge of real computers is extremely limited so please excuse any really dumb questions.

I haven't set it up at home yet, got a chance to play with it at the former owner's house for a bit but it wasn't connected to the internet.

I want to get on the 'net with it as quickly and painlessly as possible with a service provider that is particularly friendly for a virtually computer-illiterate guy like me, with the intention of switching to high-speed
    access in a few months, probably DSL.

I'm under the impression that in my particular situation I'd be best off with MSN-8 or AOL-8.0 plus.

I see lots of snide remarks about AOL and it's users on the 'net and wonder what that's all about? I already have one of those free installation discs offering 1045 hours free for 45 days.

My other choice would be MSN-8, but haven't gotten a free offer disc from them, so wonder how I'd go about getting an installation disc to get started with them.

Keeping in mind that I'm completely new to real computers and, initially, ease of use is my top priority, what would be so terrible about going with AOL? Or is MSN a better choice?

MSN's website has some free offers too, but I can't find out where to go to get the installation disc from the site as it locks up on my WebTV.

Thanks for your patience.

2. MarkHastings

MarkHastings Executive Producer

3. Steve Schaffer

Steve Schaffer Producer

Thanks Mark.