Computer as DVR

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by BrentG, Jan 19, 2004.

  1. BrentG

    BrentG Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    While doing some video editing this week end something just suddenly came to me. I already have the abilty to use my computer as a DVR. Everything that get fed from my Yamaha V2400 also is fed in to my Fire Wire in on my computer in the next room. I also have the software to record the incoming signal right to my hard drive, so you see I have a DVR for free already.

    Ok the question, only thing I don't have is a way to set the computer to record at a set time for a set amount of time. Is their any computer software out their to do this? If not their should be.
     
  2. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,309
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    Snapstream seems to be the most popular but there are others.

    -Robert
     
  3. Steve Berger

    Steve Berger Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    110
    If your recording software will run from the command line (the 'run' command) then you can use Window's own task scheduler to start it at a certain time and run for any number of minutes you choose. A lot of DVR programs actually work this way , just behind the scenes.
     
  4. BrentG

    BrentG Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That is kinda what I was thinking. I know I can get the program to open at a schedule time but their is no way to real tell it to start recording that I know of.
     
  5. Norris

    Norris Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use the Hauppauge 250MMC and it comes with its own software for timing recordings. Most video cards with TV capability have software bundled with it for this purpose.
     
  6. BrentG

    BrentG Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was hoping to keep from getting any sort of TV card for the computer, have no use for a tuner or the inputs really. I have a Sony converter that allows me to put any Composite or S-Video source in through the Fire Wire (IEEE-1394) Port. Through the same device I can export to any S-Video or Composite.
     
  7. TrevorST

    TrevorST Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So Brent what software are you using to record from the firewire input ????
     
  8. BrentG

    BrentG Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have Media Studio Pro by Ulead that I use for doing video editing of home movies and such. I can plug my JVC MiniDV camcorder right into it. I also have a Sony converter that converts S-Video or Composite into Firewire so I can feed old VHS stuff into the computer and convert to digital. Then burn it all to DVD. It can be alot of fun to play around with, and take up alot of time before you know it, LOL. Oh and monster hard drive space is a must!
     

Share This Page