Component Video Reciever w/no AMP ?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Bob Sisson, Feb 10, 2005.

  1. Bob Sisson

    Bob Sisson Agent

    Joined:
    May 30, 2000
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, I started with a Marantz AV-550, updraded to a AV-560 to get DTS, and now I want to upgrade to something that understands component video...

    I need a Reciever with NO AMPS... I have 5 x MA-700 amps already and a BIG powered subwoofer (Velodyne 15")

    What would be an AFFORDABEL upgrade that will support my seperates and their vairious video flavors?

    Bob Sisson

    PS.. Anyone want an AV-550 for the cost of shipping, I forgot I had it under my Sofa...
     
  2. MikeyWeitz

    MikeyWeitz Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I will take you up on the AV-550 for cost of shipping.
    :)
     
  3. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Man, the pre-pro sections in some of even the inexpensive AVR's are so strong. No problem at all buying one of those, and not using the power amps, it's fairly common.
     
  4. MikeyWeitz

    MikeyWeitz Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I second Jon's thought. WHat is your budget?
     
  5. Bob Sisson

    Bob Sisson Agent

    Joined:
    May 30, 2000
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My budget is CHEAP at the moment....

    I went and looked again at how we USE our home theater...

    Satalite 60%
    DVD 39%
    Games (xbox) 1%

    No Antenna connected to the reciever
    Lost the remote for the CD player (use the DVD)
    All the VHS tapes are elsewhere....

    The CURRENT Satalite is S-Video, hopefully soon to be Component. The DVD is S-video and Component.

    I just need S-Video & Component Video in and Component video Out along with 5.1 Audio pre-amp outs.
     
  6. MikeyWeitz

    MikeyWeitz Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can look at something like the PIO 1014 which can be had for $400 delivered from autho dealer.

    Will even upconvert svideo to component (not 408i to 480p, but pass an svideo signal thru your component input.

    Plug DVD via component into 1014, Xbox via component into 1014, Sat via Svideo into 1014 and only have to output component to TV.

    Only handles 2 comp in's tho. 1015 coming out in few months has 3 comp ins.

    May have to step up in price for 3 comp inputs.
    f you only need 2, then you should be fine with a 1014.

    Even my older Pio VSX-811 has 2 comp ins.
     
  7. Bob Sisson

    Bob Sisson Agent

    Joined:
    May 30, 2000
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    WOW...

    That is EXACTLY th info I was looking for....

    Seems a waste for the amps though... but I like mine..
     
  8. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No real waste buying an AVR just for the pre-pro section. You may find a use for some or all the amps down the road, you just never know. For the money spent, I don't think you will find a stand alone separates pre/pro that fits the bill for you at even twice the price.
     

Share This Page