Component Video Question

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Steve_SSS, Jan 23, 2002.

  1. Steve_SSS

    Steve_SSS Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Panasonic PT-56WG80 HDTV which is a few years old. Unfortunately, it only has one set of component video inputs. These inputs can be used for the HD video input from the HD decoder or a progressive scan DVD player. I am currently considering buying a progressive scan DVD player and am wondering whether there is a device that will take two sets of component inputs and output one set so that I can have both a progressive scan DVD player and HD capability at the same time.

    Thanks.

    Steve
     
  2. Mike I

    Mike I Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    There are component vidio switches available...Some AV receivers also have component switches built into them...If you go that route make sure the receivers component switch can pass a minimum of 32 kmz which is needed to pass an HD signal without degragation
     
  3. Steve_SSS

    Steve_SSS Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you know where video switches can be purchased? I have looked a little on the net and have not been able to find any. My receiver does not have component video switching.

    Thanks.

    Steve
     
  4. Glenn Overholt

    Glenn Overholt Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 1999
    Messages:
    4,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try a composite switcher out. Yeah, the A/V ones that run just over ten bucks. I don't have progressive player, but I do have two component inputs and there is no signal loss at all. Just save your receipt.

    Glenn
     
  5. Steve_SSS

    Steve_SSS Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Glenn,

    Where did you get the switcher from? Its output is component video?

    Thanks.

    Steve
     
  6. Allan Jayne

    Allan Jayne Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 1998
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    People on this forum have reported good results using a Radio Shack A/V pushbutton switcher for component video. Use the yellow jack for Y, the red jack for Pr, and the white jack for Pb. Technically it's not designed for component video and a power cable passing nearby might distort the picture, but it costs only about USD 20.
    However never plug video cables into the red and white audio jacks of an A/V receiver.
    You should still use video grade cables, or in the case of progressive scan and HDTV, HDTV grade cables. The red and white lines of A/V cable sets have unpredictable quality for video purposes, you might get a good set or maybe you won't.
    If equipment or cables are marginal, problems or picture softening or ghosts will show up first with HDTV or progressive scan.
    Video hints:
    http://members.aol.com/ajaynejr/video.htm
     
  7. Gabe D

    Gabe D Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 16, 2001
    Messages:
    2,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was recently searching for the same thing. (My TV has 2 sets of component inputs, but I wanted 3.)

    I bought a JVC JX-S111 5 x 2 A/V Selector with HD Component Video Switching from etronics.com for $75. It was the best deal I found, and so far (after about a week) it works great.
     
  8. Steve_SSS

    Steve_SSS Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gabe,

    That is a great price. The few component switchers I have seen so far on the net are $300 and up, (bettercables.com, extron.com). Does the JVC have the bandwidth to support HDTV without any degradation? I was told that for HD, that factor is critical? I assume that it has multiple component video in and at least one component video output.

    Thanks.

    Steve
     
  9. Mike I

    Mike I Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make sure any component switcher is capable of handling 32kmz..Many AV receivers with component switches cannot handle HD signals without degragation
     
  10. elMalloc

    elMalloc Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    0
    What I've read is that even some HDTV component connectors ON THE TV ITSELF don't handle above 30, which means it won't carry 1080i correctly anyways!

    -ELmO
     
  11. Gabe D

    Gabe D Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 16, 2001
    Messages:
    2,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was concerned after reading the above posts that maybe I bought the wrong thing. (I didn't know anything about 32 kmz vs. 30 kmz vs. a billion kmz. It's all greek to me.) I finally got around to looking at the book from the JVC selector box. The "Video frequency response" is 30 MHz. Is "MHz" the same thing as "kmz"? If so, I wonder if I should see a difference in quality. (I don't. On the other hand, I had only been seeing HDTV for about 4 days before I got the box, so I wasn't really used to how it should look.)
     
  12. Mike I

    Mike I Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gabe, you would be fine with that
     
  13. John Tillman

    John Tillman Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 1999
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mike said:

     

Share This Page