component video problems

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Johnny Ayala, Nov 15, 2003.

  1. Johnny Ayala

    Johnny Ayala Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I use the component video outputs from my DVD player to my T.V. it shows a picture that is unviewable. I have everything on the DVD player set to component, and also on the T.V. any ideas? [​IMG]
     
  2. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It might help if you explained what makes the picture "unviewable".

    M.
     
  3. Johnny Ayala

    Johnny Ayala Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What I mean is, it looks really black and I can't make out what is on. It has vertical wiggly lines. Does that make sence? [​IMG]
     
  4. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    Is this player progressive scan? Try switching it to interlaced to see if the problem goes away. If it does, your TV is not HD capable and will not accept progressive input.
     
  5. Johnny Ayala

    Johnny Ayala Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried to change it to interlace, but want able to find out how. If the t.v. isnt HD compatible......why does it have component video inputs? are these just for HD? Oh yea, the player is progressive scan. Thanks. [​IMG]
     
  6. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  7. Jack Briggs

    Jack Briggs Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 1999
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Johnny, you might also want to tell us what kind of display you're using. Component-video inputs are color-difference inputs; they have, in and of themselves, nothing to do with progressive scanning. If your monitor is interlaced only, you can't feed it a progressive-scan signal (all you'll see are the wavy lines and other artifacting).
     
  8. Johnny Ayala

    Johnny Ayala Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do i find out if my set can display progressive scan? All I see are the wavey lines you mentioned. Should i just stick to S-Video? The picture is very clear that way. [​IMG]
     
  9. Jack Briggs

    Jack Briggs Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 1999
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Johnny, we can ascertain whether your set can display progressive-scan images if you tell us the make and model. Switching to S-Video will make no difference. Instead, enable the interlaced output on your DVD player — this can be done either from the remote or on the back- or front panel of the player itself. (I doubt your monitor can do progressive scan, though.)
     
  10. Johnny Ayala

    Johnny Ayala Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for all the tips. The TV cannot show progressive scan [​IMG] I'll just stick to the S-Video.
     
  11. Jack Briggs

    Jack Briggs Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 1999
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The component-video inputs are better. Just enable the interlaced outputs on your DVD player and you're good to go. This is not difficult.
     
  12. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Johnny,

    Stick with Component- just turn off progressive in DVD player. Anyone on this forum would be happy to tell you how, it's just as simple as posting WHAT MODELS AND BRAND your equipment is...

    -Vince
     

Share This Page