1. Visit this thread for your chance to win a selection of Lionsgate action films on UV!
    Dismiss Notice

Component video input

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Ammon, Jan 15, 2003.

  1. Ammon

    Ammon Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Mitsubishi 60" RPTV and have found a problem with my component inputs. When watching dvd's it's almost as if my convergence is off. The red and blues are blurry and makes the picture look almost purple. Is there any kind of tweaking I can do to get the component connection better? Or would I need to call in a specialist? My S-Video connection looks fine. It's not HD so is it best to just hook the DVD up with s-video or should I try to get the component connection fixed? Would anything in the service menu enable me to tweak this at all?
     
  2. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    This sounds like a problem in one of your wires.

    All 3 wires in your cable are identical except for the color-coding. Try plugging them into different RCA plugs, making sure that the output and inputs match up. Does the problem visiablly change when you do this? If so, you have a bad cable.

    Examine the cable. Do any of the RCA plugs look loose or un-screwed from the body? Pull each plug off and re-insert it. (You would be suprised at how many problems this solves.)

    You might even go buy another brand of cable from a store with a 30 day return policy and give it a try. Note: Many stores have recently changed their return policy so ask before you buy.

    The better televisions have separate brightness/contrast controls for each input. This is because the signals from each device can be different. I believe this can be true of the SVideo vs Component video outputs on the same DVD player. You MIGHT have your TV adjusted for the SVideo feed at the expense of the component feed.

    But ... before you try adjusting things, check that cable. Then if you do decide to adjust things:

    - Go through all the current adjustments and WRITE DOWN what they are set to as best you can. Hopefully your TV has numerical values rather than 'slider bars' for it's settings.

    - Get a copy of Avia/Video Essentials DVD and use their Static test-patterns for your adjustments. These each have a tutorial on how to adjust the basic settings and how to use the test patterns. Do NOT try to watch moving pictures and adjust things. It's very difficult to make fine adjustments on a constantly changing image.

    Then, let us know what you tried and what worked/did not work. This will be valuable for all of us.

    Good Luck.
     
  3. Ammon

    Ammon Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the advice! I actually tried 3 different cables. All 3 proved to be the same. I then tried a different DVD player checking to see if it was that. But again the picture quality was the same. But when I hooked it into the s-video the picture cleared up. I'll next be trying to adjust the settings and hopefully not kill anything! I'll be sure to write it all down like you said. I do have the Avia DVD so I can definately use those test patterns.

    One other quick question. I found the codes to get into the service menu, but do you know of any website that might give me some mroe detail on what the different settings are?

    Thanks!
     
  4. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try going to the "Display Devices" fourm and searching for key words like "service codes" or "service menu". I think we try to avoid posting codes on this fourm, but people often post links to sites that have them.

    But ... I really would suggest you get a service man out as it sounds like there is a TV problem. (Trying different cables & DVD players was a great idea.) You can really mess up your TV with the service menu if you dont know what you are doing. I have a degree in Electronics and I wont touch the service menu.

    Good Luck.
     
  5. Michael Merrell

    Michael Merrell Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    BTW, on my Toshiba 56H80, the convergence settings are different for different inputs and even different TheaterWide settings. So, if your set is similar in this regard, that could explain the discrepancy between s-video and component.

    While the Toshiba (I can only speak about what I know) has a 56(?) point conversion in the service menu, it also has a simple 9 point conversion available without any trick codes. Does your set have something similar?

    --Mike
     
  6. Ammon

    Ammon Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a 64 point convergence on my tv. I checked the convergence on the different inputs but they all were the same. [​IMG]
     
  7. Michael Merrell

    Michael Merrell Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    In that case, perhaps it's the connectors, either on the DVD player or the TV. You could try a friend's DVD player to see if you get the same result. If so, get the TV serviced, if not, get the DVD player serviced.

    --Mike
    Warning: I may not know what I'm talking about...
     
  8. Ammon

    Ammon Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Michael,

    I tried a different DVD player and also I tried my XBOX which hooks up through the component connection. I get the same picture.

    Hopefully this makes sense and someone can shed some light on this for me.

    After playing around with this, it appears that the convergence for the component video input if off. THe red and blues are blurred on. I can especially tell on the edges of pictures. When I bring up the TV menu, its almost as if the input changes and everything lokos fine. So I'm wondering if the convergence for the component inputs are different that the other inputs. I found the service menu codes to where i can change the convergence on screen without the built in 64 point grid. Does this sound like it could be the problem?
     
  9. ThadiusD

    ThadiusD Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    if the tv has more than one component input use component two instead of component one
     
  10. Ammon

    Ammon Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just had the technician from the store i bought the tv at come and look at the tv. He looked through the service menu and then stated that this would be the best picture I would get and that it was considered Industry Standard. I seriously was speechless for a few seconds. He couldnt explain to me why my s-video didnt have this problem. I finally forced him to order me a new video input board for the TV. But seriously, does anybody think this is an acceptable picture?
    I have some pictures that might help out. In the first picture you can see a blue haze going across Anakin. The line is right where the blue sky on the horizon seperates from the sand:
    [​IMG]
    This second picture is a close up of the first:
    [​IMG]
    In this third picture, you can see first of all, that the flesh tones, and everything else it seems has a purple tinge to it. The left egdes on Obiwan's face have a red outline and the right side has a blue outline:
    [​IMG]
    Does anybody have any ideas or have seen this?
     
  11. Bill W.

    Bill W. Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 1999
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ammon,

    This is definitely a service issue, and I suspect a component input problem, since that is the only input where the colors are seperated.

    If the S-video looks normal then it has to be an input problem. If you have switched component cables,(the entire set of cables could be bad) then I would demand a new set from your store, or that they send a technician, certified by Mitsu, if Mitsubishi saw this there is no way they would consider that standard.

    Third, I would check the display model in the store if they still have one and see if there is a similar problem, though I watch these boards and haven't heard of similar complaints.

    By the way, that is not even close to acceptable nor industry standard. You might also call Mitsubishi service and have THEM look at your thread and the pictures to see for themselves.

    By the way, with a name like Ammon, where did you serve your mission?

    P.S. I just had Toshiba voluntarily replace my TV for a problem which was less noticeable than this. That color separation would drive me nuts in less than 5 minutes.

    Bill
     
  12. Ammon

    Ammon Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, the good thing is that when the TV was purchased, I bought the 5 year warranty. I do have a real good friend that works there and he did say if the problem doesnt get fixed, I can get a new TV. Let's hope that goes through.

    I had quite an argument with the tech that came out to look at the TV. I wasn't very happy with his response on the picture. When he was leaving he made the remark "You obviously have a better eye for this stuff than I do"....Wow. It should be the other way around I think! If I can't get it replaced from the store, i will definately contact Mitsubishi.

    That's awesome you recognized the name! I served my mission in Minnesota. Land of the cold. Did you serve one as well? Where to?
     
  13. Bill W.

    Bill W. Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 1999
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cordoba, Argentina 1981-83, So I'm an old man compared to you:wink:

    Let me know how this gets resolved. I wouldn't mess with it much, I'd check a display model, sounds like this is a fairly common Mitsu problem and I wouldn't back down. Mitsu probably will be happy yo make it better. If nobody there can fix it, see if you can find an ISF Tech, who should be able to do it during his normal calibration.

    Good Luck!!

    Bill
     

Share This Page