What's new

Component video input/output questions (1 Viewer)

Jill_S

Auditioning
Hi. Could someone please explain the uses of component video inputs and outputs on a receiver? Several receivers I've looked at (such as Denon AVR-1603) seem to have inputs but no outputs. Or am I just reading the specs wrong?

What would be the use of having inputs but no outputs? If there is no output, does that mean I can't run a high definition video signal through the receiver? I don't have an HD tv now, but would like to in the future (wouldn't we all?).

If I understand correctly, I could run the HD signal directly to the TV without going through the receiver, and some seem to think this is best. My question is, how much of a pain is this, user-wise? Could I still use one remote?

I'm new to this, so I hope my questions make sense. Thanks.

Michael Reuben

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Michael Reuben
Welcome to the forum!

If I understand correctly, I could run the HD signal directly to the TV without going through the receiver, and some seem to think this is best. My question is, how much of a pain is this, user-wise? Could I still use one remote?
It's not a pain to run a direct connection to the TV. At some point, the component signal has to go there. Unless you have an unusual room arrangement, there probably won't be much difference between running the component cables to the TV from the receiver or from the HD tuner.

To use one remote, you'll need to have one that can be programmed to control your TV, because the TV has to be switched to the HD/component input. This is true regardless of whether or not you have a receiver that switches component sources.

M.

Jill_S

Auditioning
Thanks for your response. In my defense, the spec sheet I looked at from Denon was here: oops it won't let me post a link. Well, you go to the Denon site and click on "Products" then "Receiver" then the little icon next to "Full Line Product Comparison Chart".