Component Vid Switching help

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Todd Smigelski, Nov 21, 2005.

1. Todd Smigelski

Todd Smigelski Stunt Coordinator

Guys,
    I'm new to comp vid switching.

Why does it bring the audio signal with it? i.e. Why can't I watch a HD football telecast on my HD STB and listen to a dvd or CD at the sametime?

Am i missing something here?

Literally, my big screen video feed goes blank when i try to listen to a cd.

Thanks

2. John S

John S Producer

Because your using your AVR to switch it, video goes with audio. Some may have this feature eventually, but right now, that is how most of them work.

To solve this, there would have to be two completely independent switching sections, one for video and one for audio. They just don't work this way currently.

The solution is to hook video directly to your display from all your soruces.

3. Dick Knisely

Dick Knisely Second Unit

Just to echo John's comments -- everything is working as designed for the way you have it hooked up. You'll lose some simplicity but gain some flexibility if you hook all the video sources to the TV and hook all the audio to the receiver, which is what he suggested. The advantage is that this makes the selection of audio independent of video because you select video on the TV and audio on the receiver.

4. Todd Smigelski

Todd Smigelski Stunt Coordinator

Thanks Dick and John, I understand independant selections of audio and video as this is what everyone (and I) have been doing for years. I was hoping i was missing a simple step with my new reciever ala some kind of audio "override" button.

OK, What i don't understand is who would want such a restrictive hookup (component switching) that doesnt allow your tv / display to even be ON while listening to a CD, concert dvd etc ??? especially when your hosting parties.

Why cant the HD football game be on with Christmas music?

Excuse the rant but I guess i just dont get it.